Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This cake was such a hit with my family! We loved it! I didn't have a lot of time so instead of making the frosting from scratch I just bought some Betty Crocker Cream Cheese frosting... that was a mistake! It's as powerfully sugary as the regular stuff. The cake is wonderfully rich enough on its own, I think next time I might go with a whipped cream frosting instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
GREAT RECIPE!! it was my first time making a red velvet cake, and now me and my family are huge fans! I upped the cocoa powder to 4T as others suggested, which gave it the perfect combination of chocolate and vanilla. The cake was moist and looked beautiful! TIP: for the frosting, make sure that the cream cheese is at room temperature and it should be beaten before added the milk, otherwise, there will be lumps, which are stubborn to get out. The frosting did have a slightly yellow hue because of the pudding, but it tasted delicious--fingerlickin good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
My sister requested a RV cake for her birthday. I'd never made one before. I used this recipe and made a few modifications (see below) suggested in various reviews. Also, I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe from this site rather than the one listed with the cake recipe. The cake was absolutely delicious!! Everyone loved it!! * Duncan Hines Golden Yellow Cake Mix * Chocolate Fudge Instant Pudding (instead of vanilla) * 2 oz Red Food Coloring (2 Bottles instead of 1) * 4 Tbsp. Cocoa instead of 1 * Cream Cheese Frosting II Recipe for the Icing (instead of the one with this cake recipe) --> When I added the vanilla, I over-poured by a just a bit on purpose. This is a keeper!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Made this cake for the first time last night. I used two cake pans and trimmed down the cooking time, and made homemade cream cheese icing (modified my Italian Cream Cake frosting recipe). The cake was incredibly moist (beat the socks off of ANYTHING we ever tried at Sprinkles!), and had the most PERFECT flavor-- and did I mention "MOIST"?! One last thing... I would refrigerate overnight before eating, to give the icing time to settle. This is the best red velvet cake I've ever tasted, and I've tasted a LOT of red velvet. :) Awesome recipe, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This recipe has been a hit with my friends! It is a moist, easy to make, and delicious cake and icing! I add a little extra cocoa, but that's it. Amazing cake! If you are expecting the "typical" dense, and slightly bitter red velvet cake, this isn't the way to go, but for a delicious and similar alternative, try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I got to do cake honors for my sister-in-laws recent birthday get-together. I should mention she considers herself quite the connoisseur & red velvet is her favorite. She & her mother declared this the "best red velvet cake they'd ever had". I have to admit, I made this as a 2nd choice, after the 'real deal' flopped, turning out dry & heavy. I couldn't believe how moist, delicious & simple this was. (I used Moist Supreme Golden Butter for the mix/ increased cocoa to 3 Tbsp.) What a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We did enjoy the cake (but only after we abandoned the idea that it was the same kind of red velvet cake that we're used to), but not the frosting. We all much prefer the heavier, more traditional cream cheese frosting. I'll make it again, but substitute the other frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This is pretty easy and tastes really yummy! I followed other poster's suggestions and increased the cocoa. Very good and red. :) Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My first Red Velvet cake and it was a HUGE hit! My family loved it. I read the reviews and added 3 T of cocoa and 2 tubes of red food coloring, and the color and taste was amazing! I made heart shaped cupcakes for Valentine's Day and it was LOVE all around! Thanks for such a great and easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I've never made a red velvet cake so this one looked pretty easy. I made cupcakes and took the other reviewers advice and added 4 T of Cocoa. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States