Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Very good! I used sugar-free pudding mix (bought it out of habit), which may have thrown off the proportions, but it was still very good! Didn't make the frosting in the recipe- used Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting from this site. Added 3 tbsp of cocoa powder as per other reviews. I underestimated how much food coloring is needed to get it really red- mine wasn't as bright as it should've been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Great recipe for the red velvet part...i just used the standard cream cheese frosting though. I did like most others and used 4tbs cocoa and 2 oz red food coloring. Could have used maybe a tiny bit more cocoa, but im not complaining. They were fluffy, moist, and red! Ill definitely be making these in the future. I did cupcakes and this recipe made exactly 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Excellent cake! Everyone who has tried it has absolutely loved it, very moist and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I definitely agree that this recipe needs more cocoa powder. I knew the reviews were saying to add 4 tbsp. but I was too afraid to add that much, so I added 2 tbsp. and I wish I would have been braver because 2 was not enough. I also agree with the reviews that this is not the traditional red velvet cake, so if that is what you are looking for, keep looking. However, it is an easy recipe and is a great tasting cake. I did not use this frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Thanks for a great recipe! This was very yummy and moist. Very beautiful color too! I used my own cream cheese frosting, added vanilla, and I used the pudding I had on hand which happened to be mini chocolate chip vanilla pudding. I definitely will use this recipe again. I want to experiment with adding a cherry jam layer, or maybe adding chocolate chips to the cake and using chocolate frosting. Definitely would be pretty with fresh raspberries or cherries! Remember to dust pans with cocoa instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Awesome cake. I didnt make the cream cheese frosting I just bought it. Much to my suprise this beat of the standing family favorite cake batter even when side by together. I did use french vanilla cake mix because its what I had on hand. It was very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I am the kind of person who judges a cake by its frosting, and eats the frosting first. That is why I started to give this 3 stars, but decided to hold back. If you are looking for a classic Red Velvet Cake, this is not the recipe without some significant changes (specifically the frosting). However, if you are looking for something refreshing and tasty, but not specifically Red Velvet, give this a try as is. I started giving this 3 stars, because when I was searching for Red Velvet Cake, that was what I was craving... Although this was tasty without any changes, my less than 5-star rating is based primarily on the title, as it sets oneself up for disappointment to call this Red Velvet Cake. This cake+frosting was good, but not at all my experience with a classic "Red Velvet" Cake. That said, I have come back to this recipe for the cake portion alone. If you are looking for an easy RVC recipe, I would recommend making the cake as directed, but add FOUR tablespoons of cocoa instead of 1. Then, use any of the traditional cream cheese frosting recipes on this site that call for butter, powdered sugar, and cream cheese. The cake portion of this recipe, when you add more cocoa, is a great and easy way to make the base for Red Velvet Cake. However, I will not be making the frosting again unless I am craving something lighter and less rich than classic RVC. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I had never made red velvet before, but it is tradition for his mom to make him one on his birthday. So this year I made it using this recipe and it was a total success! I substituted the choclate pudding in the cake and upped the cocoa as suggested. The only minor disappointment was the frosting. I wish I had listened to other reviewers, so next time I will change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDIENEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made this recipe for my brothers birthday, he's never had red velvet and neither have I, but we both thought it was great! it was very moist and though I do agree it was missing something in flavor, it paired very well with the store bought frosting. I actually doubled this recipe, and since one reviewer said it tasted better with chocolate pudding mix, I used half vanilla, and half chocolate. and like everyone suggested, doubled up on cocoa and added some vanilla extract! I suppose if you prefer one flavor over the other, then add more of that flavor, otherwise neither of them will stand out that much. [again, still good!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This cake was such a hit with my family! We loved it! I didn't have a lot of time so instead of making the frosting from scratch I just bought some Betty Crocker Cream Cheese frosting... that was a mistake! It's as powerfully sugary as the regular stuff. The cake is wonderfully rich enough on its own, I think next time I might go with a whipped cream frosting instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States