Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Yum. The cake was so good. I followed others suggestions and added 4tbs of coco and melted butter instead of vegetable oil. This made a moist and tasty chocolate cake. I kept the food coloring at what the recipe called for and it was very red. I made the mistake of making the frosting as directed and I should have used a traditional cream cheese frosting. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I am an experianced cook and have only flopped on a cake once beforethis cake idk what happened but something did and it became dense and rubbery but when i tasted it it was very flavorful and the icing is very good as well i will be redoing this cake to see if the same happens again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This cake is great! I have tried a couple of red velvet cake from scratch before. This is very easy & moist! I did use other review's recommendation. (2 oz. red food coloring, chocolate fudge pudding pkg., and 4 Tbsp cocoa) Very easy & moist! I didn't like the frosting as much though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very easy, moist & yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made this cake for my mother in laws birthday and it was a BIG hit; there is not a piece left. The one thing I changed was the frosting. I used a different frosting listed on this website. This cake was SUPER moist and had just enough chocolate flavor. This recipe now has a permanent home in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This cake was very moist. I made changes as the others suggested. I added 4tbsp of cocoa, 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 1/3 cup of reduced fat olive oil mayo. I made icing with a tub of whip cream, sugar, and 8oz of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I gave 4 because of the changes. I used the oil suggestion and half the red. The cake was moist and perfect. Next time I will try beet juice. I used Cream cheese frosting II from this sight with recomendations. I would like to make three smaller layers next time and double the frosting. The only complaint was more frosting. It was eaten up quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this recipe for a Christmas dessert, and it worked pretty well. The cake, itself, was pretty tasty. It was quite moist once it was baked. I did have issues with the batter being extremely thick, which meant that it didn't get mixed as well as it should have. I ended up with several white spots throughout my cake. My family thought it was purposeful, but it would have been better if the dough wasn't as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I put four stars only because I used store bought icing, but the cake was easy and delicious, definitely a keeper at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I recently made a different red velvet cake recipe from scratch. I was painstakingly careful to follow it to the letter. The cake was heavy, dry and lacked flavor. So, I decided to try this. While I realize it's cutting corners, it came out moist, full of flavor and bright red. I made cupcakes for a holiday family gathering for the kids. Decorated them with green frosting and holiday sprinkles. They rose up beautifully with a nice level cap on top and they are delicious! I will be making these again!!! Thanks to Mary for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States