Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I know this isn't exactly "REAL" red velvet cake...but it tastes really, really, really, really, really, really, ridiculously good. So, really...who cares? Make it, I say. (Like other reviewers, I used a different cream cheese frosting recipe from this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Tasty cake and easy to make, but not at all like traditional red velvet. This cake was moist and fluffy, whereas red velvet is supposed to be dense. Still a good cake, but I agree that the only thing this cake has in common with red velvet is the color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I just made the cake (used cream cheese frosting II instead-amazing!) which was ok. Tasted like box cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This cake was excellent. I got rave reviews from everyone at work. I wanted to take credit for the recipe but when everyone wanted the recipe I had to give it up. I increased the cocoa to 3 tablespoons as recommended. Super moist. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This cake was good, but it's NOT a TRUE Red Velvet Cake. Unfortunately I was looking for an easy way to make it and was disappointed with the outcome. However, it managed to disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHO DAT MOM
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was a good recipe, everyone at work loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHO DAT MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Paulina, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Great cake after the recommended changes, FABULOUS icing. For those who didn't like the icing my guess is they were looking for the traditional cream cheese frosting. I don't care for traditional cream cheese frosting and I LOVED this. It was lighter and fluffier & had a taste somewhere b/twn the cream cheese and the pudding. I usually scrape any icing off my cake and just eat the cake. This was one where I could have eaten just the frosting. I will use this frosting recipe over and over! I took the advice of others and doubled the red food coloring, used chocolate pudding for the vanilla in the cake, used 4 Tbsp cocoa powder and used melted butter instead of veggie oil. It tasted great - equivalent to a 4 star in my book, but since there were so many changes made I took a star off. I wish I could have given it a 3.5 though because I was wild for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flintstone, Georgia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Easy & delicious! Made this for my Nana's birthday. Substituted apple sauce for oil & used whipping cream instead of cool whip. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
great recipe. I did add an extra tablespoon of cocoa for a more chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were good. Let me clarify, the cake was fine. The icing on the other hand was a huge flop and I only barely saved it with some additions. I should have taken heed of the thinly-veiled warnings when everyone who gave it 5 stars used their own frosting recipe. If you want to basically top the cupcake with pudding, then by all meals follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States