Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I searched your files for a special holiday cake and settled on this one. It was spectacular! I made a two layer cake and split the layers so I had four. The first time I made it the frosting was a bit skimpy so the next time I used 12 oz. of cool whip and it was perfect. My whole family thought it was the best cake they had ever eaten. Mrs. McAl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Thanks for this recipe! I have always loved red velvet but most recipes I've used always turn out dry. I did not have a yellow cake mix the first time I used this so I substituted a french vanilla cake mix and it turned out great. My brother-in-law even said that it was "almost as good" as his great-aunt's (she was known as the great cook in the family!!!) Thanks again for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Make this recipe for Valentines Day for company everyone enjoyed this immensely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
I had fun preparing this recipe, however it was not as moist as I had anticipated, it was rather heavy and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
UNBELIEVABLE!!!I reluctantly tried this new recipe for my father-in-law's birthday and the response was unanimous-hands down the best, not only red velvet, but the best cake that they had ever had PERIOD! Moist was an understatement, and the icing was perfectly light, fluffy, not too rich and overpowering, yet still nice and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Best red cake I've ever had in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Very simple, yummy and moist, and gorgeous color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
This Cake is great. Moist and delicious. A recipe you need to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
My family begs me to bake this cake all the time. It truly is moist and delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
This cake is wonderful. You look great and it's something your friends and family will love. I like it best if you cook the cake in two 8x10 pans and then split the cakes making four layers. Then having the frosting in every layer. It is a huge hit. And looks beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States