Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
The cake was very moist and dense. The second time I made it I doubled the cocoa. But I had trouble with the frosting. It tasted good, but I made the recipe twice and boh times the frosting had little lumps in it. I tried creaming the cream cheese and instant pudding together before I added the milk but it didn't seem to help. I did, however, like the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I have never liked red velvet cake until I made this recipe!!!!! I made it for my boyfriend's birthday because it's his favorite and we both couldn't stop eating it. I served it to several people and everyone said it was the best they ever had. I used a more traditional cream cheese frosting so I can't comment on the frosting. I don't know why it has gotten some reviews that it's bland because mine turned out absolutely moist and delicious. Wonderful recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I made this cake yesterday based on the reviews. The cake is pretty (nice coloring) and quite moist, but too dense. Also, I found the cake to be a little bland (not the traditional Southern Red Velvet cake taste). I made 2 9" layers and split the layers. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Very moist... frosting was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
this is a pretty good cake, it was just a little plain tasting, but the frosting is wonderful. thank you mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I used "Duncan Hines" brand yellow cake mix; "Jello" brand instant pudding mix; "cool whip" whipped topping. Works every time for me. Never fail. This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! Absolutely the best red velvet cake I've ever tasted! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious, moist and easy recipe. I've been asked all the time to bring this delicious dessert to family gatherings, functions, pot lucks, etc. My friends/family just love it! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Husband's favorite cake is Red Velvet and this matched the best he ever had. Very moist and delicious. Thanks Allrecipe.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I searched your files for a special holiday cake and settled on this one. It was spectacular! I made a two layer cake and split the layers so I had four. The first time I made it the frosting was a bit skimpy so the next time I used 12 oz. of cool whip and it was perfect. My whole family thought it was the best cake they had ever eaten. Mrs. McAl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Thanks for this recipe! I have always loved red velvet but most recipes I've used always turn out dry. I did not have a yellow cake mix the first time I used this so I substituted a french vanilla cake mix and it turned out great. My brother-in-law even said that it was "almost as good" as his great-aunt's (she was known as the great cook in the family!!!) Thanks again for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States