Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is a quick and delicious solution to prepare a very special dessert that doesn't require special ingredients or attention for all occasions. For real chocoholics, I shave bittersweet chocolate over the top of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I took this cake to an office potluck for Christmas and it was gone in 10 minutes. Everyone LOVED it!! It was moist and wonderful!! I was skeptical about the frosting but it was a refreshing treat, light and just right!! Excellent recipe, I will make it again and again and everyone will think I worked hard doing it! Easy and excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
The cake was very moist and dense. The second time I made it I doubled the cocoa. But I had trouble with the frosting. It tasted good, but I made the recipe twice and boh times the frosting had little lumps in it. I tried creaming the cream cheese and instant pudding together before I added the milk but it didn't seem to help. I did, however, like the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I have never liked red velvet cake until I made this recipe!!!!! I made it for my boyfriend's birthday because it's his favorite and we both couldn't stop eating it. I served it to several people and everyone said it was the best they ever had. I used a more traditional cream cheese frosting so I can't comment on the frosting. I don't know why it has gotten some reviews that it's bland because mine turned out absolutely moist and delicious. Wonderful recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I made this cake yesterday based on the reviews. The cake is pretty (nice coloring) and quite moist, but too dense. Also, I found the cake to be a little bland (not the traditional Southern Red Velvet cake taste). I made 2 9" layers and split the layers. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Very moist... frosting was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
this is a pretty good cake, it was just a little plain tasting, but the frosting is wonderful. thank you mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I used "Duncan Hines" brand yellow cake mix; "Jello" brand instant pudding mix; "cool whip" whipped topping. Works every time for me. Never fail. This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! Absolutely the best red velvet cake I've ever tasted! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious, moist and easy recipe. I've been asked all the time to bring this delicious dessert to family gatherings, functions, pot lucks, etc. My friends/family just love it! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Husband's favorite cake is Red Velvet and this matched the best he ever had. Very moist and delicious. Thanks Allrecipe.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States