Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This recipe turned out great! I used more than an ounce of red food coloring and the color turned out perfect! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
pretty good overall, a little dry, nothing special. A good basic red velvet recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Beautiful cake but not very flavorful. My family prefers the typical cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteElke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
We thought this cake was okay. We were disapointed with the frosting. It just tasted like instant pudding and Cool Whip. I will stick to the traditional cream cheese frosting when making a red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I thought the cake was very bland. Nothing like the red velvet cakes I have had before. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I was a little concerned with the reviews about dryness and bland flavor and color. Neither dryness or color was an issue. I substituted 1/2 c of melted butter for veg. oil, and put in 3 T of cocoa. This was a moist, delicious cake, the entire family LOVED it. Served with my own icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
The cake did not have a dominant flavor. It was also too dense and not as moist as most other cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Delicious, moist cake! I used two 9" round pans and got two huge layers of cake. My husband couldn't stop raving about this cake. I used my own icing recipe. The only thing I didn't like about this cake is that it turned out more orange than red - even after using all the red food coloring I had. This is definitely a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is a quick and delicious solution to prepare a very special dessert that doesn't require special ingredients or attention for all occasions. For real chocoholics, I shave bittersweet chocolate over the top of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I took this cake to an office potluck for Christmas and it was gone in 10 minutes. Everyone LOVED it!! It was moist and wonderful!! I was skeptical about the frosting but it was a refreshing treat, light and just right!! Excellent recipe, I will make it again and again and everyone will think I worked hard doing it! Easy and excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States