Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
pretty good overall, a little dry, nothing special. A good basic red velvet recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Beautiful cake but not very flavorful. My family prefers the typical cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteElke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
We thought this cake was okay. We were disapointed with the frosting. It just tasted like instant pudding and Cool Whip. I will stick to the traditional cream cheese frosting when making a red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I thought the cake was very bland. Nothing like the red velvet cakes I have had before. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I was a little concerned with the reviews about dryness and bland flavor and color. Neither dryness or color was an issue. I substituted 1/2 c of melted butter for veg. oil, and put in 3 T of cocoa. This was a moist, delicious cake, the entire family LOVED it. Served with my own icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
The cake did not have a dominant flavor. It was also too dense and not as moist as most other cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Delicious, moist cake! I used two 9" round pans and got two huge layers of cake. My husband couldn't stop raving about this cake. I used my own icing recipe. The only thing I didn't like about this cake is that it turned out more orange than red - even after using all the red food coloring I had. This is definitely a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is a quick and delicious solution to prepare a very special dessert that doesn't require special ingredients or attention for all occasions. For real chocoholics, I shave bittersweet chocolate over the top of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I took this cake to an office potluck for Christmas and it was gone in 10 minutes. Everyone LOVED it!! It was moist and wonderful!! I was skeptical about the frosting but it was a refreshing treat, light and just right!! Excellent recipe, I will make it again and again and everyone will think I worked hard doing it! Easy and excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
The cake was very moist and dense. The second time I made it I doubled the cocoa. But I had trouble with the frosting. It tasted good, but I made the recipe twice and boh times the frosting had little lumps in it. I tried creaming the cream cheese and instant pudding together before I added the milk but it didn't seem to help. I did, however, like the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States