Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I have never had any other Red Velvet cake, so I don't know what to compare it to. But at any rate, THIS IS SOOOO GOOD! I did make a few changes suggested by other reviewers. I used 4 tablespoons of cocoa, one tablespoon of vanilla, and two 1oz bottles of the food coloring. I also used the moist yellow cake mix. I didn't have time to make the icing, so I used a store bought whipped cream cheese icing. I put some chopped pecans on top. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
If you've ever had a real red velvet cake you will be disappointed with this recipe. Adding food coloring does not make any cake become red velvet. I did make the cake and it was a good, but it was not a red velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was a great cake - very moist. Made it for Valentine's Day. My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
At first, I was unimpressed by this cake recipe. I tripled the cocoa powder, as one reviewer suggested, and the result was gorgeously dark red cupcakes (baked for 15 minutes at 350). I also used half butter, half vegetable oil to encourage moistness. Unfortunately, the flavor was very bland. It tasted just like boxed cake mix, except not as good. But my co-workers did like the cake, so I tried it one more time, this time with the original vegetable oil but FOUR tablespoons of cocoa. I really liked how this picked up the flavor a bit for me, and it was more moist this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This cake was GREAT! The birthday girl loved it and said it was better than any bakery red velvet cake! Delicious frosting and moist. I garnished with red sprinkles, chocolate drizzle, and strawberries. Will definitely make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
ver delicous and moist cake, I didnt use the frosting so I cant speak for that and I changed the pudding to chocolate ( thats all I had) and it was ver good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe! I didn't have any red food coloring, but had green, so mine was more like "green velvet cake"! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
yum! definately doesn't taste like boxed cake mix. it is denser and more flavorful. my family loved it. i iced it with chocolate butter icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This is a so-so cake. Easy enough for a beginner cook, or a person who doesn't have enough time to actually make a traditional Red velvet cake w/ a butter roux frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was a great recipe. The family raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States