Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent! Made the following revisions - used 4 Tablespoons cocoa, added 1 teaspoon vanilla - came out a tiny bit dry due to extra cocoa, so I might try adding a tablespoon melted butter in addition to the oil next time. Used cocoa instead of flour to 'flour' the greased pan - looks much better with a chocolate cake. Also, don't forget if you use a dark coated pan, you may want to reduce the oven temp. I used 2 9-inch dark pans and cooked at 335 for 35 minutes. Also used the cream cheese frosting II from allrecipes. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was a good recipe. It was moist and everyone loved it. I didnt have any cocoa, yet it still came out great and i am going off what everyone said about it. Despite me telling everyone i didnt add the cocoa to the recipe. They truly enjoyed it. I would recommend this recipe. I am going to make this cake tonight I found the cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
i've made this about 15 times now and everyone who's tasted it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
A coworker reauested this for her birthday. I garnished it with strawberries and chocolate shavings and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I used this recipe to make red velvet cupcakes. I made the cream cheese frosting from scratch from a recipe I also found on allrecipes.com. My only suggestion is to use choclate pudding mix instead of vanilla. Otherwise, this is a great recipe that I've used over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Very disappointing. The only thing similar to a red velvet cake about this cake was the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Oh yeah - this is the recipe for me, a busy mom who needs shortcuts. I just made these for a bake sale. The recipe makes 24+1(for the cook, of course)cupcakes. They are incredibly moist, dense, and RED. My modifications: -white cake mix -3T of cocoa -1 full oz of red coloring I chose to go with another frosting (Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site) because I prefer more of a dense cream cheese taste and texture. It's perfect with these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Great tasting cake but didn't like the color it turned out. I would use the recipe again but just leave out the food coloring and call it a "NOT red-velvet cake" cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I have never had any other Red Velvet cake, so I don't know what to compare it to. But at any rate, THIS IS SOOOO GOOD! I did make a few changes suggested by other reviewers. I used 4 tablespoons of cocoa, one tablespoon of vanilla, and two 1oz bottles of the food coloring. I also used the moist yellow cake mix. I didn't have time to make the icing, so I used a store bought whipped cream cheese icing. I put some chopped pecans on top. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
If you've ever had a real red velvet cake you will be disappointed with this recipe. Adding food coloring does not make any cake become red velvet. I did make the cake and it was a good, but it was not a red velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States