Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I've never made a red velvet cake so this one looked pretty easy. I made cupcakes and took the other reviewers advice and added 4 T of Cocoa. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
The flavor of this cake was really good, but it wasn't very pretty. I followed the recipe exactly but the cake sunk in while it was cooling, and there was a short layer at the bottom of the cake that was kind of gummy. I must have done something wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swidgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I doubled the cocoa powder and other than that, followed recipe exactly. The cake was very moist and I got lots of compliments on the cake and cupcakes. I'm only giving 4 stars because I was not the biggest fan of the frosting and think the prepackaged whipped cream cheese frosting in the store is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
The cake was delicious and very moist. I really liked the frosting (light and not too sweet), but my husband did not. He likes the traditional frosting for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! It was super easy to make and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is different from the red velvet cake my great-grandmother used to make with a very thick, sweet cream cheese frosting. While that is still my favorite, I'm giving this 5 stars, because my daughter loves this cake and always requests it. She doesn't usually eat icing, but loves this lighter, fluffier frosting. So you just need to know that up front, so you can decide if you want to try this or use a heavier, more traditional frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Having never made an RV cake I found this recipe to be easy and very tasteful. However as far as I could find, the pudding only comes in 1 and 1 1/2 ounce sizes. I used one of the 1 1/2 oz containers for the cake and found the recipe to be fine. However the frosting left a great deal to be desired. Next time I will use a different recipe for the frosting. BTW, I used sugar-free instant pudding and reduced sugar cake mix for a very low sugar cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Great recipe! I've never made a RV cake, and this one came out great. Very moist, and fluffy. I made mini and regular sized cupcakes, and used a store bought cream cheese frosting instead of the one in this recipe (needed to save some time). These will be perfect for a vampire themed party I am hosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Wow! This cake recipe is possible the first dessert I've ever made that my whole family loved. With a few revisions, this cake came out unbelievably moist: 4 TB cocoa powder, 5/6 cup oil, and 1 1/4 cup water. With 1 full ounce of red food coloring (4 of those mini dropper bottles or 1 large glass bottle) the cake came out a lovely rich dark red color. I went with Cream Cheese Frosting II which came out delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Easy to make. I used white cake instead of yellow, and also doubled the cocoa and used 2oz of red food coloring. The cake came out more of a pink color than red but still looked nice. Made tons of icing! Overall tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKRETSCHMER1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States