Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
When I first did this recipe it taste like cake with food coloring. I made this cake 4 more times altering certain ingredients. My 4th try was the best . I added 1/3 cup of cocoa, 2 teaspoon of distelled white vinegar instead of 1 and added 1 extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maye111xx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I have used this recipe since 2003. It has become one of my signatures. But since all the recent 'red-velvet-hype", I wanted you to know there is no better recipe out there. Save yourself time and trust this recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Really excellent recipe. It was my first time making Red Velvet Cake and there's hardly anything left! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this cake for Christmas and everyone loved it, including my mom who only eats chocolate cakes. I did make a chocolate frosting for it though. This is one of my favorite recipes. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junia Sonier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
it is good but if you dont put self riseing flour in it, it is kinda stiff. but over all is was good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My family loves this recipe with 1 minor modification. Add 1 - 2 teaspoons of cocoa powder to the flour mixture and it enhances this cake so much more!!!! Also if you don't have vegetable oil canola is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I love the combination of ingredients for red velvet cake. I thought texture of cake came out well. Awesome choice of ingredients for cake frosting, in that some recipes do not included soften butter to its frosting. So far this red velvet cake recipe was better than the last two recipes I used to prepare this cake on thanksgiving of last year. I am glad that cocoa powder was not a main ingredient in your recipe compared to other recipes (I do not think it goes well). Great choice and I will recommended this particular recipe to anybody who want's to learn how to bake this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Also red velvet cake does not have a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I hate to break this to all the chocolate lovers but not everyone likes that chocolate in their red velvet cake. That's why different versions of this recipe as with others exist. I personally can't stand red velvet cake with chocolate in it and would never attempt to make one only to blame those who do like it. That's foolishness on my part! Why not just get a chocolate box cake and dye it red. This is the southern favorite I grew up loving! Chocolate lovers keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsTamara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the same color of the blood in my semen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States