Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Original Red Velvet cake is, essentially, a lightly flavored chocolate cake. This recipe is missing the two tablespoons of cocoa powder that are suppose to be included in the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Butterfly Flutterby
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I made this today to take to hubby's work Xmas party tonight. This was a huge hit! My changes were to add 1 tsp of cocoa and make sure that the buttermilk and eggs were at room temp. I left out the pecans in the frosting. I used cake flour and still sifted all of the dry ingredients. I used two 9 inch rounds that baked in 27 minutes. I topped with strawberries. I will make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This is almost the same as my grandmother's recipe, except she uses cake flour, 2 cups of oil and 1 tablespoon of cocoa. We also use 1 cup of pecans in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This cake is definately missing something...not sure where this recipe originated, but I've always heard that a red velvet cake should be more than just red...like it should have the taste of devil's food cake, but have the red colour. I won't be making this again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is TRUELY THE BEST ever!!! i have been using this one for years and when taken to the same table as one that has coco in it, this one wins hands down! If you want devil's food then don't make red velvet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
This cake was one of my best cakes, & all my friends thought it had an unusual taste tho' there is nothing unusual in it except the colouring. The frosting, tho' it was just cream cheese frosting tasted so good.....too good.I'd bake this cake over & over again for family & friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I made this cake for my son's 14th birthday at his request for a red velvet cake. He's only ever had the chocolate kind before so this was a surprise to him. But he loved it and so did all of his guests. It was a beautiful red color and unbelievably moist. I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla because I didn't think the batter was very tasty; I'm glad I did, it turned out well. I used store-bought vanilla icing (also at his request) and it was fine with the cake. I noticed a very slight bitter taste that I attributed to the HUGE amount of red food coloring in the recipe but no one else said anything about it. I wonder if it would be just as pretty with only 1oz. of food coloring. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairmount City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
ABSOULUTELY PERFECT! 5stars! so moist! so fluffy! i live in england and have tried 2 red velevt recipes and failed in the last few days. was gonna give up and saw this-my last try AND IT WORKED! HEAVEN! as we dont use baking soda in England, i used bicab of soda same amount+1.5-2tsp vanilla extract, used cider vinegar and not distilled white vinegar. to get a bright red colour i found the best foodcolor is scarlet not red. depends how bright or deep you want it. i love it bright red so found waitrose sold 28ml little bottles by langdale and the colour is scarlet at 34p and i used 2 of them. i had tried the bottles marked red but it came out too deep a red colour for me so i prefer the scarlet colour. for the frosting- mixer high speed-300gram cream cheese pack which is 1.5 amount recipe asks. increase butter to 3/4 cup as had gone up with the cream cheese+2tsp vanilla extract, reduce sugar in frosting to 13oz icing sugar called confectioner sugar in US. we dont have it as sweet in England as do there. did toy with putting cocoa but didnt. glad i didnt. this cake came out PERFECT! did find i left it in oven 25-30mins. also if you have an electric fan oven do remember to reduce temperature by 20degrees to 160degrees. i used 2 sprinform 9in tins(base and sides greased+lined +lightly floured). Tip-used kenwood mixer beat oil+eggs+caster sugar on highest till very fluffy then add flour b.milk etc on minimum speed. DO NOT BEAT/MIX THEN ON HIGH!! only slowly blend in! XXXXX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
ADDED COCOA IT WAS GREAT!!! NICE FLUFFY, MOIST!!! ABSOLUTLY DELISH!!! EASY TO MAKE!!! WILL DEFINATLY MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COWVIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Awesome cake! Just changed a couple things - added some cocoa (sorry i don't measure when I do this lol) and some butter flavoring. Also, I think the frosting recipe is supposed to have 2 pkgs of cream cheese instead of 1. Worked out after I added the second box. :) Cake was a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States