Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
i used the icing from this recipe great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
I liked that there was no cocoa powder in this recipe, as my husband won't eat chocolate cake, and the frosting was awesome!! The color was great too, really red. But the cake came out somewhat dry and oily. I would make it again with butter instead of the oil, and maybe a splash of milk or yogurt to moisten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I made this cake for my honey for Valentine's day. He loved it! I am kindof wondering about the amount of red food coloring though. If I figured it right, 2ounces works out to 4 tablespoons. I only had 1 1/2 tblsps. and the cake was plenty red enough! All in all a good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I made this cake for my son's 14th birthday at his request for a red velvet cake. He's only ever had the chocolate kind before so this was a surprise to him. But he loved it and so did all of his guests. It was a beautiful red color and unbelievably moist. I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla because I didn't think the batter was very tasty; I'm glad I did, it turned out well. I used store-bought vanilla icing (also at his request) and it was fine with the cake. I noticed a very slight bitter taste that I attributed to the HUGE amount of red food coloring in the recipe but no one else said anything about it. I wonder if it would be just as pretty with only 1oz. of food coloring. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairmount City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This was a delicious cake! I made it on Christmas Eve and my family loved it. I thought it was going to be hard, but it was easy. I know that I will be making this again. Thanks A Bunch!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
My Mom and I decided to try this one. It was a no brainer. It was moist and tasted so much like the cakes from back in the day! It tasted great, so my crash test dummies cleaned it up in no time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
This is the most WONDERFUL cake in the world! I've only tasted red velvet one other time in my life, when I was a child. Thanks to the internet, I have reclaimed this childhood favorite! This is a taste sinsation! My 11 year old son even wants this cake for his birthday, instead of an ice cream cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
I kept waiting for the cocoa. I wont make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
I made this cake for a wedding where the bride's color's were red and white. It was a big hit. Some guests even came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
great cake - easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States