Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
very sweet and cream cheese icing almost too much. For us anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I really struggled with this cake, but I think it's the flour we have in Scotland and the temperature of my oven. When we move, I'm making this cake again. The flavour was still wonderful, and I did salvage it enough to serve it after Christmas dinner. Everyone liked it. But I know what Red Velvet Cake should be, and mine did not turn out right. Will try again, though. I think this is probably a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This cake was delicious. It was very moist. I made a few changes. I added cocoa and used only 1 oz food food coloring. It was red but not too bright. I'll try 1.5 ounces next time. I used evaporated milk instead of buttermilk. I used 2 packages of cream cheese for the frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was the first cake i have ever made from scratch. It was absolutely delicious, i fell in love with the recipe and the frosting was to die for, mmmmm so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was my 1st Red Velvet cake and I was up against a box cake mix. My cake won the taste test hands down. Moist and colorful. I did add a tsp. of cocoa for a bit of chocolate flavor. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Don't be disappointed-see other recipes that use cocoa in cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessieleigh
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
YUM! Yum! Yum! A little sugary but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessieleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
A lot of reviewers are saying this is missing something. Yes, a lot of Red Velvet Cakes call for Cocoa Powder. However, during the Great Depression, Cocoa Powder was hard to come by for some folks, so they omitted it. This cake is absolutely wonderful! Almost the same as my family recipe. I use Cake Flour instead of self rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This cake would have been perfect if it had cocoa in the recipe. It came out a beautiful deep, rich, red color and it was moist. I had to go back and add 2 TBSP of cocoa after I'd poured the batter in the first set of pans, but it made a big difference. The frosting was a little too sweet and stiff though, next time I'll lessen the confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan G. Tang
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a very good recipe, except for the fact that it's missing cocoa powder; I added 1/3 cup of cocoa powder when I made it. The results were quite tasty and the color was a dark, beautiful red after adding the cocoa. Thanks so much for this recipe, definitely worth making with the Whipped Cream Cheese recipe also on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan G. Tang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States