Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This cake tasted delicious-I added 1 tsp of cocoa powder but would likely add more next time. The only complaint I have is that the red colour wasn't uniform throughout the cake. This could have been my error-maybe I didn't mix it enough. I also used shortening and flour to grease my pan, maybe that's why the outside of the cake was not at all red! My food colouring also turned the cake more of a pink/purple colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was very pleased with the recipe, it did exactly what I wanted. I do not have two matching tins, so baked it in one tin for about an hour and then sliced it to make three layers and cut into a heart shape for Valentines day I sandwiched the layers with cream cheese frosting, spread the top with a red coloured white chocolate glaze and added heart shaped chocolates and leaves. My boyfriend loved it and the cake looked very good. I also added 3 tbsp cocoa, will post a photo of the result as it was a beauty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This is a fantastic cake. I read the reviews and I to added cocoa and the flavour is amazing. Then my 6 year old son wanted a Godzilla birthday, so I made the cake into bright green cupcakes with red icing in honour of Godzilla!! Can't recommend this cake highly enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is similar to the red velvet cake I make. To those who think that a red velvet cake is a chocolate cake with red color, that maybe true for some people but everyone I know enjoys the buttermilk red velvet cake, that just has a teaspoon of cocoa. That is the only difference in this recipe and mine, and an additional half cup of oil. I love this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I added coco, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
loved by all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
ABSOULUTELY PERFECT! 5stars! so moist! so fluffy! i live in england and have tried 2 red velevt recipes and failed in the last few days. was gonna give up and saw this-my last try AND IT WORKED! HEAVEN! as we dont use baking soda in England, i used bicab of soda same amount+1.5-2tsp vanilla extract, used cider vinegar and not distilled white vinegar. to get a bright red colour i found the best foodcolor is scarlet not red. depends how bright or deep you want it. i love it bright red so found waitrose sold 28ml little bottles by langdale and the colour is scarlet at 34p and i used 2 of them. i had tried the bottles marked red but it came out too deep a red colour for me so i prefer the scarlet colour. for the frosting- mixer high speed-300gram cream cheese pack which is 1.5 amount recipe asks. increase butter to 3/4 cup as had gone up with the cream cheese+2tsp vanilla extract, reduce sugar in frosting to 13oz icing sugar called confectioner sugar in US. we dont have it as sweet in England as do there. did toy with putting cocoa but didnt. glad i didnt. this cake came out PERFECT! did find i left it in oven 25-30mins. also if you have an electric fan oven do remember to reduce temperature by 20degrees to 160degrees. i used 2 sprinform 9in tins(base and sides greased+lined +lightly floured). Tip-used kenwood mixer beat oil+eggs+caster sugar on highest till very fluffy then add flour b.milk etc on minimum speed. DO NOT BEAT/MIX THEN ON HIGH!! only slowly blend in! XXXXX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
OK -- Not Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
very sweet and cream cheese icing almost too much. For us anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I really struggled with this cake, but I think it's the flour we have in Scotland and the temperature of my oven. When we move, I'm making this cake again. The flavour was still wonderful, and I did salvage it enough to serve it after Christmas dinner. Everyone liked it. But I know what Red Velvet Cake should be, and mine did not turn out right. Will try again, though. I think this is probably a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States