Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I love the combination of ingredients for red velvet cake. I thought texture of cake came out well. Awesome choice of ingredients for cake frosting, in that some recipes do not included soften butter to its frosting. So far this red velvet cake recipe was better than the last two recipes I used to prepare this cake on thanksgiving of last year. I am glad that cocoa powder was not a main ingredient in your recipe compared to other recipes (I do not think it goes well). Great choice and I will recommended this particular recipe to anybody who want's to learn how to bake this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Also red velvet cake does not have a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I hate to break this to all the chocolate lovers but not everyone likes that chocolate in their red velvet cake. That's why different versions of this recipe as with others exist. I personally can't stand red velvet cake with chocolate in it and would never attempt to make one only to blame those who do like it. That's foolishness on my part! Why not just get a chocolate box cake and dye it red. This is the southern favorite I grew up loving! Chocolate lovers keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsTamara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the same color of the blood in my semen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
loved this cake, it is my moms fav!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
it so yummy...i dont have colouring so i use my cherry red syrup which i do like marble cake so its not all red but its pattern white and red...my icing i use kidney bean paste in the layer and top with cream cheese frosting....whole cake i cover with butter cream ...yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It was ok. My husband said it doesn't compare to his grandmother's. Of course, my teen couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lehnig-Bouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I made this cake for the labor day holiday and it all left at my gathering. I thought the cake was pretty good. I gave it four stars because the cake was not as moist as I would have preferred. It was a little dry but the icing was great. I did as some reviewers suggested and the only thing I changed was to add one tbs of cocoa. This recipe is very simple and I will make it again because it was a huge hit!! Thanks for sharing Rhonda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I cant wait to make this my new holiday tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DishDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States