Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Hi I used this recipe well the frosting part for a birthday cake. I am a skilled baker but couldn't get this frosting recipe to work. In this case it turned out more like a glaze then a frosting. I even add more confection sugar to it to help it stability. It end up being very sweet and consistanct of water. I was totally not impressed and would never use this recipe again. Plus as for the cake part who would use vinegar in a cake recipe. I would never use this for a nice event it will not turn out correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
this cake was OK but it wasn't spectacular.I used more cocoa the second time and it came out a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie12399

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Tastes nothing like red velvet cake, even after adding the cocoa powder. Instead of making a cake I made cupcakes to try out, but I won't be making them again. Although, it makes a good children's cake in general, so if you want to make a simple nice cake then use this recipe. Just don't bother with the colouring. Icing was buttery so I had to add more icing sugar, tasted alright in the end. I wouldn't really suggest using this icing to be honest, I usually make my icing from the Primrose Bakery book, and I'll be sticking to that. An alright cake in general, so I'm giving it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This recipe is great and wonderful!!!! I really like it, and have made it serveral times, it taste good and very moist, my family really loves this cake!!! Thank you! CW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I didn't have self-rising flour, so used all-purpose and added 1 tsp salt and 4 tsp baking powder (then skipped the tsp of baking soda the recipe called for). It rose well and was perfectly light and moist, which always pairs so nicely with the rich cream cheese icing. I needed way more icing sugar than was called for. I stopped counting after I'd used 8 cups. Make sure you have extra on hand, and just keep adding icing sugar until it's the consistency you like your icing to be. Thanks for a great recipe! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Perna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
When I first did this recipe it taste like cake with food coloring. I made this cake 4 more times altering certain ingredients. My 4th try was the best . I added 1/3 cup of cocoa, 2 teaspoon of distelled white vinegar instead of 1 and added 1 extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maye111xx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I have used this recipe since 2003. It has become one of my signatures. But since all the recent 'red-velvet-hype", I wanted you to know there is no better recipe out there. Save yourself time and trust this recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Really excellent recipe. It was my first time making Red Velvet Cake and there's hardly anything left! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this cake for Christmas and everyone loved it, including my mom who only eats chocolate cakes. I did make a chocolate frosting for it though. This is one of my favorite recipes. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junia Sonier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
it is good but if you dont put self riseing flour in it, it is kinda stiff. but over all is was good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States