Red Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dessertie
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made half of this recipe to celebrate 2015. It was great, super moist, soft, and delicious. I didn't make the frosting because I had a can of Pillsbury's vanilla frosting. Remember to add 2 tbsp of cocoa powder, because red velvet cake is supposed to have a light chocolatey flavor to it. If you do not have buttermilk, add 1 tbsp vinegar or lemon juice to the bottom of the measuring cup, then pour in ROOM TEMPERATURE MILK until it reaches the 1 cup mark, let it sit for 5-10 minutes before use (it should curdle by then). If you also don't have SR flour, mix together 2 1/2 cup minus 5 tsp (1 tbsp plus 2 tsp) of flour with 4 tsp (1 tbsp plus 1 tsp) baking powder and 1 tsp of salt. And 2 oz (1/4 cup!) of red food coloring is toooooo much (that's why I rate this 4 stars. My family was also complaining that the cake was extremely red)! Add about 1-1.5 ounce (2-3 tbsp) or more to your liking. P.S. Wear red so you don't stain your clothes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beecautious
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Very good and moist but I added 3 tbs if cocoa Oh cream cheese frosting was to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beecautious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I made this cake with a few changes, I only added 1 oz of red food coloring, added 2 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa to the buttermilk mix and instead of using only pecans, I used white chocolate covered crunch balls and everybody at home and work loved it. I value their opinion because I'm not a red velvet cake fan. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is exactly what I was looking for. I have so many customers that love the bright red red velvet cake & they request no cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
So good and moist. I added a small amount of peppermint. Cause I don't care for chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I recently made this cake for my son's 2nd Birthday party and it is simply wonderful! I made a Spiderman cake, red velvet cake with a blue cream cheese outside and webbing of course. I have tried other red velvet recipes in the past and was very disappointed with how dry they were and how much they lacked in color. This recipe however is the complete opposite! Very moist and a very VERY bright and beautiful red. The only thing I did different was add 2 Tablespoons of cocoa. Definitely making this one again....and again! Love it and it was a huge hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I read other recipes, so addeded 1/3 cocoa powder; i changed 1 C Oil to 1/2 c butter + 1/2 C shortening, and perhaps because i was using cake flour, i needed to add 1 egg (for 3 total), because batter was so stiff. I was disappointed cake was not very moist, and sort of "bland" as other reviewers said. I'll try other Red Velvets til I find a better tasting one... and don't use cake flour., it does not "rise" as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Too this recipe I added a teaspoon of coco powder to give it that light chocolate flavor. I brought this to a family birthday party and everyone said that they hated red velvet cake but they loved this cake. I made 2 nine inch rounds and put my homemade whipped cream frosting on it. This cake was amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
The cake is kinda dry, maybe should have added more oil. Used 2 tsp cocoa, should have used more. I watched the video that was with the recipe after I tried the cupcakes. Ingredients were not only different but different amounts. I will probably try it one more time according to the video. If that doesn't work, I won't try it again. Definitely lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Hi I used this recipe well the frosting part for a birthday cake. I am a skilled baker but couldn't get this frosting recipe to work. In this case it turned out more like a glaze then a frosting. I even add more confection sugar to it to help it stability. It end up being very sweet and consistanct of water. I was totally not impressed and would never use this recipe again. Plus as for the cake part who would use vinegar in a cake recipe. I would never use this for a nice event it will not turn out correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States