Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
it was okay.... i wouldn't use this frosting again. I would make cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I followed the recipe and suggestions to the tee, the cake was terrible. It was chewy and heavy, very bland flavor, so the modifications others made did nothing to help the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This came out perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This recipe is terrible! I took the advice of using oil instead of shortening, and the cakes fell and they were super greasy. Yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Excellent cake! I made as directed, except used (nontraditional) cream cheese frosting. The only thing I'd change next time is to leave out all that red food coloring. It won't change the taste, only the color. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth Henderson
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My son requested a Red Velvet Cake for his 21st birthday celebration. I read a lot of the reviews and on the advise of one of the reviewers who went into the science behind substitutions, decided to make it exactly as listed. I split the 2 9" layers in half to make 4 layers and took the time to make the icing as directed. It was wonderful. I had tons of compliments and everyone wanted to know how the icing was made. My opinion, if you use cream cheese icing, it is way too sweet. Go classic and take your time and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for red velvet cake for a co-workers birthday. I gave this one a try. I followed it exactly. It came out great! She said it was one of the best she's had! Mine was not dry at all. I did not try the frosting recipe, but the cake was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This cake was horrible. Tasted terrible and so dry I almost choked on it. The only reason I gave it even one star was that I really loved the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
The first time I made this, I did double the chocolate as others had suggested. The red dye that I used was a gel and unfortunately this did not blend well and there were swirls in the cake. Aside from the dryness it tasted delicious. The second time I made it for Christmas Eve, I used a liquid red dye (2 oz)- no swirls and replaced the shortening with the 1 cup of oil that other reviewers had suggested. Beautiful. It was moist and delicious. The icing was a knockout both times. This is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Incredible. Cake was moist, not to fluffy, not too dense. For the cake, I substituted 1 cup canola oil for shortening; 2 cups sugar instead of 1.5; doubled the cocoa powder. For the frosting I used half and half instead of milk and confectioner's sugar instead of regular sugar. My first try with the frosting turn into a mottled mess, with unappetizing curdles, this turned out to be because I hadn't cooled the cream and flour mix enough. The second time i tried it, I put the cream and flour mix in the freezer until it was very cold, but not frozen. The I mixed it very well and strained it. I added it to the butter and sugar mix bit by bit, until I had the consistency that I wanted (didn't use all of it), and it was delicious. The recipe doesn't state, but make sure that the butter is room temperature before you cream it with the sugar. Cutting it into small 1in cubes will help this a lot. And if you have to pop it in the microwave, do 5 secs at a time. Also of not, I used half of the recipe for cupcakes and the other to make a cake, cupcakes where just ok, I think 25mins was a little too much time for them, the cake though, cooked at 325 was phenomenal. Everyone raved about it. I have also made this recipe with Cream Cheese Frosting II and it was another success - doubled the sugar to cater to my sweet tooth. Cheers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States