Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Icing turned out funky but the cake was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Harrah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was the first time I made red velvet from scratch and it was delicious. I didn't have as much food coloring as required probably a little less that half and I was worried but it turned out wonderful. and not a problem at all. You do not need 2 ounces. The taste of chocolate is a little too subtle, so I will add some more next time. The frosting is delicious. I accidentally added 2 cups of sugar, but it still tasted really good. and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Made this cake with some of the recommendations below and it came out great. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This cake was amazing! It was a huge hit with the family!! I used the reviewers' alterations and also added 1/4 tsp. extra of vanilla. Everyone loved it! Definately will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandilyn0506

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This recipe is a lot of effort for zero reward. This isn't a good cake at all. I followed the directions exactly, except due to the reviews that the cake was bland, I added a little more vanilla extract, and a splash of Franjelica, a sweet hazelnut liquer, and the cake is dry, and very flavorless. I'll stick to my easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
The only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 1 or 2 is because my guests ate up the whole cake and my husband loved it. If I went according to my taste though it would not be so good. I really hated it and that's with the changes the others suggested. I will be searching for a different Red Velvet recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have made this cake twice already and it comes out great. The only change I make is I substitute oil for shortening. The icing is great also. I was weary of putting flour in icing instead of using confectionary sugar but it came out so smooth and not gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
slightly chewy, but turned out well with the oil and sugar changed per previous comments. Only one bottle of food dye needed, made it plenty red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I am intrigued by the idea of making a red velvet cake, but then when I read that you actually have to add a full 2 oz of red dye (a quarter of a cup!) or even ONE full ounce for that matter, I get turned off. That just seems so unhealthy, to add that much red dye to anything. And wouldn't it mean that eating it would stain your teeth/mouth, and anything the cake touched?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Like others, we used vegetable oil, and the cake still was dry. I will keep looking for the perfect Red Velvet cake recipe. The frosting was good, but didn't make enough for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States