Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I had never made a red velvet cake before and I actually had never eaten one before this and...WHAT AN INTRODUCTION!!!! I served this cake for the first time when we had guests over for dinner in early January. It's the end of March they still remember how amazing it was! So does my family. Hubby requested it for his birthday in February and my daughter ate her whole slice and asked for more...she never eats my cakes! Thanks for this amazing recipe and I look forward to sharing one as worthy with this great community someday soon. Next on the list Black Forest another first and I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made this cake for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day this year. He, his mother, and his friends LOVED it! It was my first time making a red velvet cake and I am very happy it turned out successful! I used the Special Buttercream Frosting for this recipe instead of the recipe for frosting that was originally provided. I have a few comments on making it though. If you don't have buttermilk on hand, I suggest adding 1 tablespoon of vinegar to 1 cup of milk, mix that in, and let it sit for 5 minutes. It should have the same consistency as buttermilk (I promise you.) Also, my tip for those who want a very moist cake, add some instant pudding when you sift your flour (I used CAKE FLOUR for this recipe). Or for a moist cake, to your batter, add sour cream. I hope this helps for those who are having trouble! Have fun baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I love this recipe - I make this low carb with Carbquick and Stevia and frost with a low carb crisco frosting (also made with Carbquick) and the results are always tasty. I have made this many times and the cake is always consistently delicious - Even my sugar eating friends request my low carb version of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mahek
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
SOO DELICIOUS!! didn't have cream cheese so I made buttercream and I got sooo many compliments tried the frosting but put in the wrong amount of flour so I just Threw it and started over w buttercream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth McIntosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is my new go to red velvet recipe. The frosting is absolutely perfect. It fluffed up nice and was enough to frost and fill a 9in cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
The cake is perfect exactly as written! No changes should be necessary if you follow the directions! I made beautiful, delicious, perfect cupcakes. (did not use frosting -- I love a cram cheese frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Thi is my grandmothers recipe. It is exactly like hers.the only problem I had was I didn't flour the pan and the cake stuck terribly. So I remade half of the recipe and use the other two in a weird way and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe on the icing and have just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryn Domenic-Nick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It came out pretty dry and without a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The cake was absolutely AMAZING after substituting 1 cup oil for shortening 1/2 cup shortening, 2 cups sugar for 1 1/2 cups sugar, and adding an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder, which was what several other people recommended. However, the icing recipe simply did not taste good to me. I didn't have time to try out another icing recipe so I had to use store bought icing. Other than the icing though, the modified cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Snacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States