Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Tried this recipe as posted except adding extra cocoa and coloring. Perfect.Five stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sccoaire
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
First time making a red velvet cake, a flour roux, a 4 layer cake, and that kind of frosting. I set the oven timer at 20 minutes and the toothpick came out very wet. I gave it another 5 and it came out totally dry. Next time; 22 minutes in oven will probably be enough. The batter looked red all across, but when it came out of the pans, the bottom part was brownish. I read multiple reviews after the facts, next time I'll put 1 once of food colouring only, and in the buttermilk as suggested. The frosting was very difficult to get to a nice texture. I doubled the recipe because I had four layers to frost. I left the butter out at room temperature at least 2 hours before creaming it with the sugar. I let the kitchen aid run for at least 5 minutes at high speed. Then I poured the flour roux mix, which I had put in the fridge at some people's recommendation. I mixed it very well, for at least 5 minutes at high speed. The texture looked great. I had frozen the cake layers. I had just enough frosting to cover everything, but it was difficult to spread and it seemed too granulated. I ran across 2 small lumps of butter that hadn't mixed probably, I removed those. All-in-all, the cake was very good, everyone enjoyed it. I'm looking forward making another with the new found knowledge I now have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenQueen
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made this for my sister's birthday dessert. First time making a red velvet with traditional icing (vs cream cheese) and I have to say the taste was yummy!!! I modified the cake recipe as others suggested (more oil, sugar) but kept the rest the same. The icing has a wonderful flavor!!! I let the milk/flour mixture cool completely before going to the next step. Easy to frost the cake with. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I had never made a red velvet cake before and I actually had never eaten one before this and...WHAT AN INTRODUCTION!!!! I served this cake for the first time when we had guests over for dinner in early January. It's the end of March they still remember how amazing it was! So does my family. Hubby requested it for his birthday in February and my daughter ate her whole slice and asked for more...she never eats my cakes! Thanks for this amazing recipe and I look forward to sharing one as worthy with this great community someday soon. Next on the list Black Forest another first and I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made this cake for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day this year. He, his mother, and his friends LOVED it! It was my first time making a red velvet cake and I am very happy it turned out successful! I used the Special Buttercream Frosting for this recipe instead of the recipe for frosting that was originally provided. I have a few comments on making it though. If you don't have buttermilk on hand, I suggest adding 1 tablespoon of vinegar to 1 cup of milk, mix that in, and let it sit for 5 minutes. It should have the same consistency as buttermilk (I promise you.) Also, my tip for those who want a very moist cake, add some instant pudding when you sift your flour (I used CAKE FLOUR for this recipe). Or for a moist cake, to your batter, add sour cream. I hope this helps for those who are having trouble! Have fun baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I love this recipe - I make this low carb with Carbquick and Stevia and frost with a low carb crisco frosting (also made with Carbquick) and the results are always tasty. I have made this many times and the cake is always consistently delicious - Even my sugar eating friends request my low carb version of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mahek
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
SOO DELICIOUS!! didn't have cream cheese so I made buttercream and I got sooo many compliments tried the frosting but put in the wrong amount of flour so I just Threw it and started over w buttercream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth McIntosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is my new go to red velvet recipe. The frosting is absolutely perfect. It fluffed up nice and was enough to frost and fill a 9in cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
The cake is perfect exactly as written! No changes should be necessary if you follow the directions! I made beautiful, delicious, perfect cupcakes. (did not use frosting -- I love a cram cheese frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States