Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2001
I haven't made this recipe but the recipe I use isn't dry, and the frosting is no fail. For the cake, substitue 1 cup of oil for the shortining and increase the sugar to 2 cups. The frosting is 1/2 cup unsalted butter, 8 oz cream cheese, 1lb powdered sugar, and 1tsp vanilla. Let frosting ingrediants warm to room temp before mixing to avoid overheating mixer or make in food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
5-star cake! Moist with a velvety crumb. The frosting is just right. Family asks for this all the time, and I never take home leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This cake is DELICIOUS! it takes quite a bit of work, but the end result (even when the frosting doesn't turn out, and just drips off the cake) is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
This cake is wonderful. Very moist & the icing is perfect, better than the traditional cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
I grew up on red velvet cake & this recipie is the REAL MCCOY! I am glad to have found the authentic recipie. It is fabulous. To the people who says the icing turns out runny, I am sure that you are not letting the flour & milk paste cool enough. It must be absolutely COLD of the butter will melt & run & the icing won't turn out creamy like it should. Put that pan in the refrigerater & let it cool for a good hour before you mix it with the butter & sugar! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
Although the cake is a hassle to make, it sure is worth it. I found it to be very delicous. This is my first time making this cake and it turned out excellent. I didn't use the recipe for the cream cheese frosting, I used a different one, and sad to say it burn my blender out because it was so thick in the beggining. I have now decided to only make this cake only once a year, and that will be for the holidays. Although it is great, it's a hassle. I would make it year round otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I made this for Valentine's Day and it came out beautifully. A really nice color and most people have never heard of red velvet cake so it always gets a great reaction. I didn't make the frosting because I didn't want to keep the cake in the fridge, store bought vanilla worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
the no bake chocolate oatmeal cookies i've been using this recipe for years i got it from my grandmother and she made them when i was a little girl i'm now 45 years old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2001
A little hard to make, but tasty and nice shade of red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
A fantastic cake... great flavoring and color from a relatively simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States