Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
5-star cake! Moist with a velvety crumb. The frosting is just right. Family asks for this all the time, and I never take home leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This cake is DELICIOUS! it takes quite a bit of work, but the end result (even when the frosting doesn't turn out, and just drips off the cake) is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
I was looking for a recipe that would closely match the red velvet cake we had made for our wedding. This was not it. I dont know what happened, I followed everything exactly, but my cake turned out dry and tasted like a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
This cake is wonderful. Very moist & the icing is perfect, better than the traditional cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2000
The icing isn't worth it. It came out very drippy no matter what I did, and it looked clumpy and gross. Next time I'lluse Best White Icing Ever or Bakery Shop Icing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
Cake tasted very good. However, it was not the most moist cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
I grew up on red velvet cake & this recipie is the REAL MCCOY! I am glad to have found the authentic recipie. It is fabulous. To the people who says the icing turns out runny, I am sure that you are not letting the flour & milk paste cool enough. It must be absolutely COLD of the butter will melt & run & the icing won't turn out creamy like it should. Put that pan in the refrigerater & let it cool for a good hour before you mix it with the butter & sugar! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
Although the cake is a hassle to make, it sure is worth it. I found it to be very delicous. This is my first time making this cake and it turned out excellent. I didn't use the recipe for the cream cheese frosting, I used a different one, and sad to say it burn my blender out because it was so thick in the beggining. I have now decided to only make this cake only once a year, and that will be for the holidays. Although it is great, it's a hassle. I would make it year round otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I tried this recipie for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit with everyone, especially the kids. The frosting was the best I've ever tasted--I just made sure the milk and flour paste was VERY COLD before I blended it with the sugar. It was creamy and not at all runny. (I think the insructions call for 1 cup of flour and 5 tablespoons of milk for the icing, which couldn't be correct, so I reversed them and it came out beautifully.) The cake wasn't as moist as some, but it was very dense and tasted great with the frosting. Already I've been told that it's a "must" for Christmas. It wasn't that difficult, just time consuming, but the kudos from family were worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This cake is a big hit with those who remember the old red velvet cake of their childhood. The consistency was good and flavor OK. Not extremely moist, but adequate. I had poor luck with the icing and pitched it in favor of a traditional butter icing which was fabulous on it. It's the look and the nostalgic value that really take the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States