Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Good cake, I just thought that it was a bit dry. I will make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I've had much better red velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Good but it wasn't as moist as I had hoped and it was a bit flat tasting. I was hoping for a bit more bite. My search for the perfect red velvet recipe continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is the best red velvet recipe iv found. I make it all the time and everyone iv made it for loves it. Don't use the frosting recipe given its terrible I don't even understand why someone would make frosting this way! Very moist, works well as cupcakes and as a cake even better when its eaten cold. Be careful not to over bake, very good recipe all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cutiekk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baumanns
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Absolutely to die for. A little dense... but I think I preferred it that way! I use a cream cheese icing and oh my. Absolutely heaven. Reminded me of Cheesecake Factory's Red Velvet Cheesecake . YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baumanns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
The BEST red velvet cake! I made this cake using the substitutions everyone had suggested (3 tbl cocoa powder instead of 2 tbls, 1 oz red food coloring not 2 oz, 1 cup oil for 1/2 cup shortening, 2 cups white sugar not 1 1/2 cups, and a tablespoon white vinegar). I did not make the frosting, so I can't rate that, but the cake is amazing! Rich, moist with the perfect combination of vanilla and cocoa as a proper red velvet should. I made this with red, white, and blue fondant for the 4th of July and it was a total hit at the bbq. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywood21691

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Edible, but I wouldn't serve it to anyone. I'm really disappointed with this recipe; the cake turned out too tangy and was falling apart on the plate. My husband said it tasted like play-doh. I won't be making this cake again. However, the icing turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Pretty good. I added 2 EXTRA tablespoons of cocoa for extra flavor. I also added a little extra food coloring to make sure the cocoa didn't turn it too brown. Very dense cake, like red velvet should be, but a little denser than I like it. I also added 1 extra tsp. vanilla. Made 22 cupcakes baked for 18 minutes. I might make it again. Slightly dry and a little too dense, but that may have been my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This cake turned out very light and fluffy, and made beautifully domed cupcakes. I added gold rum and reduced the sugar by about half a cup so that the addition of frosting didn't make them too sweet. I think it would also be nice with whipped cream frosting. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Icing turned out funky but the cake was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoriaharrah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States