Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I was making this cake 50 years ago...the original recipe for the frosting calls for using crisco, not butter or oil....it is a very touchy recipe but if you can get it right it is to die for...tastes just like whipped cream...at first I had problems with it curddeling, but finally mastered it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This has the same ingredience that my old recipe has, except I have 4 T cocoa and 1 cup oil and 2 cups sugar. and I double the frosting. Iam so glad to see the right orginal frosting and NOT cream cheese. I'am a cake decorator and get ask to make this recipe alot, and a family favorite all around. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I, too am glad this recipe is more traditional and doesn't use the cream cheese in the frosting! PEOPLE, True red velvet cake does NOT have cream cheese frosting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUECIOETA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Traditional red velvet cake? This is it. I've made this recipe several times, and I tried to skip some steps in my first attempts. Don't skip steps. The swirls of cocoa will happen, among other things. I did add an extra heaping TBSP of cocoa powder, however, and only used one ounce of red food coloring. Because you really need two ounces to make the paste (that extra liquid is necessary), as the recipe calls for, I added a bit of extra vanilla to the paste so I could mix the cocoa properly. For those who say the cake is too dense - that is what it's supposed to be. It allows for baking a flat cake because you can really spread that cake batter evenly into the pan, which allows for slicing in half for making the traditional 4 layers. For those who say the icing is too goopey, they probably did not cook the flour/milk to a paste, or perhaps they didn't let it cool properly. Either would cause that problem. When making 4 layers, as I did, it's necessary to double the recipe for the icing. Substituting a cream cheese icing is fine for those who think that's what they prefer - but this is the authentic recipe. It's quite good. Thanks for sharing!! Oh, it really is best the next day. Try to make a day ahead. The moisture of the icing will help the cake, which can be dry at first. But upon sitting over night as an iced cake, this is really top-notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Instead of buttermilk, I used 1 cup milk and 1 tbsp of white vinegar and let that sit for about 5 minutes. Instead of 1/2 shortening, I used 3/4 vegetable oil and also used less salt. Other than that, I followed the recipe. The tops of the cakes were a little ugly with brown swirls, but I cut the domed tops anyway, and the color inside was beautiful! I also halved the recipe to make 12 regular sized cupcakes that turned out beautifully. I baked the cupcakes at 325 for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I just made this cake last night as others suggested where I substituted shortening with a cup of vege oil, but I kept the sugar at 1 1/2 cup as I don't like my cake too sweet, used 4 tbsp of cocoa powder, and use 1 ounce of coloring instead where I mixed it with buttermilk and it still turned out red. I didn't have white vinegar and used cider vinegar instead, but it works fine. Make sure you put the cake straight in the oven after you mixed the batter with baking soda and vinegar to make sure your cake rise perfectly! I used whipped cream cheese topping in this site, to keep the cake on the lighter side, and put it in a fridge overnight, and it tasted AMAZING the next day!!! 4 star as I made all the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Beautiful cake and the frosting was unbelievably good. The cake, though was somewhat dry and not quite chocolate-y enough for me. Glad I read the reviews on the frosting - or I wouldn't have known to heat the flour/milk mixture till the consistency of mashed potatoes. I used almond milk instead of milk in the frosting. Next time I make it, I will increase the cocoa, maybe add more buttermilk to make it moister (?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My first red velvet cake. I combined all of the ingredients precisely as suggested. The batter looked extremely dry-- and then I tasted the batter--it tasted like nothing and I have very sensitive taste buds. There was absolutely zero flavor. Pretty red color--but we want our cake to taste as good if not better than it looks. I just kept adding ingredients until the batter tasted yummy. I know I shouldn't taste batter with raw eggs--but I couldnt help myself:) I used a total of a little over a 1/2 cup of cocoa--I added another egg, some more buttermilk and a little more sugar to balance the added cocoa... i had no shortening so I used equal aount of veg oil--and also added a couple tablespoons butter(next time i'll use butter in pace of the oil/shortening-- the batter looked really moist and was a good texture... ready for the oven! I was afraid I might have messed up the chemistry, but it rose beautifully and had a really nicely textured, velvety red crumb. I let my husband taste the batter before I put it in the oven--he said it was yummy! Finished product: Everyone loved and raved about the cake. I used a cream cheese frosting--hubby's choice--yum!! Thank you to the person who submitted this recipe--it gave me a base to which I could customize to our tastes... we are foodies 'round here!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was a hit! Made the suggested adjustments and it was moist, the frosting was delicious! Topped with the strawberries was real yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was easy and fantastic. My father is very picky about red velvet and he loved this one, I will definitely use it again. The cake came out moist and a great shade of red
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States