Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This recipe is a lot of effort for zero reward. This isn't a good cake at all. I followed the directions exactly, except due to the reviews that the cake was bland, I added a little more vanilla extract, and a splash of Franjelica, a sweet hazelnut liquer, and the cake is dry, and very flavorless. I'll stick to my easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
The only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 1 or 2 is because my guests ate up the whole cake and my husband loved it. If I went according to my taste though it would not be so good. I really hated it and that's with the changes the others suggested. I will be searching for a different Red Velvet recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have made this cake twice already and it comes out great. The only change I make is I substitute oil for shortening. The icing is great also. I was weary of putting flour in icing instead of using confectionary sugar but it came out so smooth and not gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
slightly chewy, but turned out well with the oil and sugar changed per previous comments. Only one bottle of food dye needed, made it plenty red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I am intrigued by the idea of making a red velvet cake, but then when I read that you actually have to add a full 2 oz of red dye (a quarter of a cup!) or even ONE full ounce for that matter, I get turned off. That just seems so unhealthy, to add that much red dye to anything. And wouldn't it mean that eating it would stain your teeth/mouth, and anything the cake touched?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Like others, we used vegetable oil, and the cake still was dry. I will keep looking for the perfect Red Velvet cake recipe. The frosting was good, but didn't make enough for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I make this recipe exactly as is except I substitute the shortening with vegetable oil (more true to authentic southern red velvet recipes) and it comes out much more moist and perfect every time. I've found that it's best when you let it sit for a day before serving much like good carrot cake and banana bread recipes. Family and friends ALWAYS request this cake for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Well the cake was quite dry, I will be trying this cake again and definitely taking the advice of others and trying it with vegetable oil instead that would make it super moist I bet! I also used green food coloring instead (in honor of St Pattys day) that may have changed something? The frosting was REALLY good I have never tried a frosting like that, I'm quite partial to buttercreams with powdered sugar. Looking forward to an occasion to test this one out again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This cake is DELICIOUS. The only qualm I had was that the icing recipe didn't quite make enough icing for my liking. I had to add shaved chocolate to the sides to cover up the lack of icing. But otherwise, the cake turned out fabulous and had rave reviews from all who ate it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is one of my favorite cakes to make! They make amazing cupcakes too. The buttercream icing is definitely better than the usual cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States