Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
The cake is perfect exactly as written! No changes should be necessary if you follow the directions! I made beautiful, delicious, perfect cupcakes. (did not use frosting -- I love a cram cheese frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Thi is my grandmothers recipe. It is exactly like hers.the only problem I had was I didn't flour the pan and the cake stuck terribly. So I remade half of the recipe and use the other two in a weird way and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe on the icing and have just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It came out pretty dry and without a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The cake was absolutely AMAZING after substituting 1 cup oil for shortening 1/2 cup shortening, 2 cups sugar for 1 1/2 cups sugar, and adding an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder, which was what several other people recommended. However, the icing recipe simply did not taste good to me. I didn't have time to try out another icing recipe so I had to use store bought icing. Other than the icing though, the modified cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Snacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe is a keeper, I absolutely Adore it! This was made for a tea party, and every guest loved it and wanted more. I made the frosting from this link though. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cream-cheese-frosting-ii/ Make sure you follow the directions, plan enough time to do this right, and DO NOT OVERCOOK. I checked on the cake about 5-10 minutes before I was supposed to, and found that it was completely done with the toothpick test. Fantastic Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My guests liked it, but it was so-so for me. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My first ever RVC was this recipe, i just added 1 tbls of coffee in it, it turned out moist, brilliant and just like Velvet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly as written. The cake looks very nice and great color. No flavor and slightly crumbly (dry). Just not a cake I would ever make again! Not moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
It was good. I made red velvet for the first time ever with this recipe, and only have had red velvet cake 1 time before, so I thought it was pretty good, but not great. Then again I don't really know how its suppose to taste, but overall there wasn't anything special about it, but it did taste good and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Finally! A REAL red velvet cake! A red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting is good, but nothing special. This cake with the butter frosting - wonderful!! This is very similar to our old family recipe, but my mother always made it in three layer pans, then sliced each layer through, to make six very thin layers. Then with this wonderful buttery icing in between each layer, ohhh -so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States