Red Velvet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I love this recipe - I make this low carb with Carbquick and Stevia and frost with a low carb crisco frosting (also made with Carbquick) and the results are always tasty. I have made this many times and the cake is always consistently delicious - Even my sugar eating friends request my low carb version of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mahek
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
SOO DELICIOUS!! didn't have cream cheese so I made buttercream and I got sooo many compliments tried the frosting but put in the wrong amount of flour so I just Threw it and started over w buttercream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth McIntosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is my new go to red velvet recipe. The frosting is absolutely perfect. It fluffed up nice and was enough to frost and fill a 9in cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
The cake is perfect exactly as written! No changes should be necessary if you follow the directions! I made beautiful, delicious, perfect cupcakes. (did not use frosting -- I love a cram cheese frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Thi is my grandmothers recipe. It is exactly like hers.the only problem I had was I didn't flour the pan and the cake stuck terribly. So I remade half of the recipe and use the other two in a weird way and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe on the icing and have just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It came out pretty dry and without a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The cake was absolutely AMAZING after substituting 1 cup oil for shortening 1/2 cup shortening, 2 cups sugar for 1 1/2 cups sugar, and adding an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder, which was what several other people recommended. However, the icing recipe simply did not taste good to me. I didn't have time to try out another icing recipe so I had to use store bought icing. Other than the icing though, the modified cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Snacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe is a keeper, I absolutely Adore it! This was made for a tea party, and every guest loved it and wanted more. I made the frosting from this link though. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cream-cheese-frosting-ii/ Make sure you follow the directions, plan enough time to do this right, and DO NOT OVERCOOK. I checked on the cake about 5-10 minutes before I was supposed to, and found that it was completely done with the toothpick test. Fantastic Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My guests liked it, but it was so-so for me. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States