Red Snapper Livornese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was a great recipe. I used crushed tomatoes, and I had no capers or black olives, so instead I used some whole green olives. I used flounder and I just placed the fish pieces on top of the sauce in my pan and cooked them through on the stove. It took about 10 minutes for 1/2 lb of flounder to get it to 145 degrees. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Forgot to buy black olives so used some slice manzanilla olives I had on hand. Otherwise used 2 lbs of snapper filet and did not drain the tomatoes before using. Served over rice and steamed broccoli on the side, hubby said it was delicious. I am not a fish eater but I didn't mind this at all so putting it on my regular Friday night fish rotation. Definitely recommend using tomatoes with juice because that was the best part served over rice in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Fantastic just the way it is written. I served over bed of sautéed spinach-low cal, low carb--just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am generally not a fan of fish, but this very tasty. I will make it again soon. I used flounder and a whole 28 oz can of plum tomatoes (drained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by late4supper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
this is a definite five star. I used grouper. the flavor was sensational. be attentive to the baking time as i took it out too soon and had to resort to the microwave. grouper is thick and so needs the 30 minutes. this is superb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marco Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made this recipe when I discovered I was suddenly hosting a dinner party for six in two short hours. I was at the store and saw a Red Snapper fillet which looked like the right size, so I pulled up "Red Snapper" on allrecipes. It took hardly ANY time to prepare, and my guests were blown away! I got rave reviews for this dish. The snapper goes perfectly with the livornese and was anything but fishy in taste. It holds up beautifully for a reheat. I'll definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My family all loved it, and I did, too. It wasn't "fishy" tasting at all probably because I used fresh fish. I just threw a whole can of diced tomatoes in without draining it, and I didn't cook the parsley in the sauce. I sprinkled it over everything at the end instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Really enjoyed this. I used fresh tomatoes and put a lid on the sauce while it simmered to preserve the moisture. Added a bit more salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Easy, and very flavorful. I only wished I'd added a little salt to the fish. But that could vary depending on the olives, or even, I suppose on the fish. I used some deli pitted black olives, which I would have thought would be saltier than the canned, but who knows. But still, easy and very nice for casual company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This Red Snapper dish is absolutely fantastic. I have made it with Tilapia & Grouper - no matter what type of fish you use is just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States