Red Snapper Baked Alaska Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I tried this technique with Fresh Wild Alaskan Sockeye salmon. Used dill instead of parsley. I would suggest putting a very thin smear of mustard on the fish in addition to salt and pepper. And add mustard to the meringue. I used panko and it gave a nice texture. I think you need to use a fish that gives a flavor contrast to the egg which is more of an edible garnish. This does serve to keep the salmon moist as it finishes cooking, so it's important to watch your timing on the first round of cooking. Beautiful presentation if done correctly. Next time I will try cooking on alder plank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this with the expectation that the whipped egg whites and herbs would combine to create a unique taste. I cooked the recipe according to directions, only adding a sprinkle of dill. The end result tasted like snapper with fried egg on it. The recipe also did not say how much Dijon mustard to add, so I only added 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by over easy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I just didn't like the textures, neither did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Delicious and fun new way to cook fish. I broiled the top for a few minutes at the end because the top wasn't turning brown and I was worried about over cooking the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I would suggest using Panko crumbs; much lighter than bread crumbs. A little dried dill wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
i wouldnt waste snapper on such a mediocre recipe again. this was bland and thoroughly not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I'm not a very good cook, and I think I didn't whip the egg yolks until they peaked properly, but I still thought this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Smelled so good while it was baking, tasted absolutely wonderful and was so easy it came out perfect on the first try. Although I must admit I added an extra egg white so the meringue would spread evenly over 8 small fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Good flavor but I think I must have done something wrong with the meringue because it turned out kind of hard. Probably because I had to cook it a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States