Red Slush Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Very good, but a little too sweet for my taste. I'm not sure why the recipe says to mix the jello/water and sugar/water separately - I did it all at the same time, and it was fine. This tastes really good with cherry jello and pineapple juice, lemon jello and orange juice, and orange jello and mango juice. It's kinda fun experimenting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This punch was a big hit at a baby shower that I hosted. I had 25 people and made the recipe amount that was shown originally,and had a ton left over. I also took it out of the freezer about 1 hour ahead of time,to allow it to thaw a little bit,so it wasn't a huge ice chunk in my punch bowl. Also,it takes a good 8 hrs to really freeze up,so making this a day ahead of time is a really good idea. Overall a very good punch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is fantastic! It's enough for a big crowd. I made this for Thanksgiving, and I had about 28 people at the party. The kids loved it and drained the punch bowl. Bring out your bags to thaw at least 3-4 hours ahead, and leave at least 2 on the kitchen counter and 2 in a cooler to thaw. I followed the recipe exactly. The slush is wonderful with the ginger ale. I didn't find it too sweet at all, but juuuuust right! Don't change a thing! I will be serving this again for my Christmas Eve dinner. Thanks for a great punch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I love this punch recipe, and so do my friends and family. I use it every year at my Christmas open house. Now I print off copies of the recipe ahead of time, because someone always asks for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDAWW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I made this with 7up instead of Ginger Ale. Each zip lock bag holds about 7 cups -- if you divide the full recipe evenly before freezing. I served it to High School Seniors. Everyone, including the boys, couldn't get enough - really yummy. You know when HS boys are asking for it, it has to be good:) Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was a hit at a bridal shower. I put half of the sugar in and it was plenty sweet. Next time I won't put any sugar in since the juice is sweet enough with the gelatin. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Very Yummy, I'm a little scared to serve this at a formal party due to the red stain factor. I wonder how it would taste with orange jello? I would love to add the rum as suggested and will probably do that when I make this for a more informal party in my home. If I serve it and it goes over, I'll add some more notes... The timing was a little difficult, but this made plenty of punch for 30 people plus some for an "after" party with the rum added later to do invitations, no one spilled all over even on the invitations lol. I took the frozen zip-lok bags of punch out early-about 8 AM, then put them in a large igloo beverage cooler to transport with the Ginger ale @ 9 AM, and got a good consistency by the time lunch was served. Had to bust up the big hunks of frozen stuff, but it worked out ok. Better plan on a punch bowl. You can't pour this well or use a spiggout because it filter out all the slushy ice which is key in the overall enjoyment of the beverage. Overall, a little complicated, but good pay-off factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was a big hit at our luau party to benefit Making Strides against breast cancer. i was able to freeze it in take-along containers, bring my punch bowl, and pop it in there (an hour before) with a bottle of gingerale,and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Used this at a retirement party, it was a hit. Only change was to use half of the sugar... also ended up using a mallet to break up the frozen part before putting it in the punch bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very good. Never really made punch before. Everyone enjoyed it. I just poured it in, and for ice I used the "hands" from Witches Brew. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Luscious Slush Punch

See how to make a refreshing alcohol-free punch.

Lemon-Strawberry Punch

See how to make a fizzy, refreshing, alcohol-free punch.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States