Red Skinned Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is the most amazing potato salad. It is always a hit, and I'm always asked for the recipe. I bake the potatoes rather than boiling them and boil the eggs eighteen minutes, maybe mine are larger. I also add the bacon right before serving so it's crunchier. It is best made the night before it leftover, but always incredible. Best part is that when made with homemade mayo this are safe for my whole food-allergy-filled family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Waaaaaay too much mayo. It was gross. I am rating this recipe "as is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This came out really good, the only thing I added was about 1/2 cup more mayo only because it was a little dry for my taste. definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This is an excellent concoction. I'm giving it 4 stars because when I followed Debbie2's advice, substituting Miracle Whip and sour cream for mayo, it was more amazing! The proportion was 1.5:1. I think celery has an aftertaste and didn't use that. Used finely diced sweet onion. Separated the yolks from the white when the eggs were chopped. I made the dressing mixture in a separate bowl. Whisked the egg yolks, salt and pepper with the dressing. Then gently mixed the dressing into the bowl of dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
For sure a 5! We had stop-in guests at our house and I happened to have made the potato salad because someone had just given me a lot of small red potatoes. The gentleman said that this is probably the best potato salad I've ever tasted! I did add two tablespoons of Ranch Dressing and used one less cup of mayonaisse (I use Miracle Whip) 1 tsp of vinegar and 1 tsp of sugar. Everyone took more than one helping.I did not use onion and used an extra stalk of celery and some chopped green peppers I had on hand.With the small red potatoes, I did not even have to cut them up, just chopped them when they were done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really good. I tried another users idea and cubed the potatoes first. I did add bacon bits and only 1 cup or mayo. It is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Thanks, I did a variation on this recipe, and it turned out great. Thanks for the base recipe. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhomboid
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
this is the greatest ever!!!!! I will continue to make this and will share it with my friends...............THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
great base recipe! I substituted half of the mayonnaise with sour cream and added some dill seed. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Very oniony, but otherwise amazing! I just think the next time I do it I will use one half of an onion and then substitute with a little more celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States