Red Salmon Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NNChick
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love this pate. This is the 3rd time I've made it. I did the adjustments as well. I used the packet of salmon instead of canned (so convenient), added dill and fresh chives (replaced onion) and sweet Spanish paprika. I also zested a little of the lemon into the mix. I made an error and added more liquid smoke than I meant to... but it didn't hurt the recipe one bit. Served with crackers and capers on the side and also some good cayenne pepper for anyone who wanted a little heat. The only thing was the "roll into a ball with pecans and parsley" was no easy chore. You may want to just use a bowl or shape it with gloved hands. FYI - The pecans give it just a little bit of texture which takes it from yummy to extraordinary! I made 2 balls out of it for 2 different parties. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe...definitely add the liquid smoke....a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Delicious! I also added liquid smoke: about 3/4 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This Salmon Pate was delightful! It has a great flavor that really makes this dish a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Some people use liquid smoke with the recipe, I prefer smoked paprika. It gives it a beautiful pink color like smoked salmon. I have made this every Christmas for three years and it is always a huge hit. I serve with tomato slices and capers on mini bagels or toasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Salyards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I used this exact recipe, just used some smoked walleye. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made a double recipe the other day. I looked at the insane amount of pate in the dish and was expecting to throw at least 1/2 of it away since I expect our three kids (4, 7, 8) to turn their collective noses up. NOT SO. The kids devoured it! I made the recipe as shown but added 1 tsp of liquid smoke (remember, doubled the recipe). I'll add more next time. I also used a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I make this all the time and its always a hit! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Took this to a potluck with various crackers. It was gone almost immediately. Definitely add the liquid smoke mentioned by others!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
EXCELLENT recipe, very similar to Philadelphia's vesion of salmon cream cheese. I took the advice of others as well and used liquid smoke and crushed red pepper, parsley for garnish only. No nuts. Served it on a bed of fresh dill branches and lemon slices, and voila! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Quick Cured Salmon

See how to make a quick, simple brine for luxurious cured salmon.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States