Red Salmon Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NNChick
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I love this pate. This is the 3rd time I've made it. I did the adjustments as well. I used the packet of salmon instead of canned (so convenient), added dill and fresh chives (replaced onion) and sweet Spanish paprika. I also zested a little of the lemon into the mix. I made an error and added more liquid smoke than I meant to... but it didn't hurt the recipe one bit. Served with crackers and capers on the side and also some good cayenne pepper for anyone who wanted a little heat. The only thing was the "roll into a ball with pecans and parsley" was no easy chore. You may want to just use a bowl or shape it with gloved hands. FYI - The pecans give it just a little bit of texture which takes it from yummy to extraordinary! I made 2 balls out of it for 2 different parties. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe...definitely add the liquid smoke....a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Delicious! I also added liquid smoke: about 3/4 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This Salmon Pate was delightful! It has a great flavor that really makes this dish a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Some people use liquid smoke with the recipe, I prefer smoked paprika. It gives it a beautiful pink color like smoked salmon. I have made this every Christmas for three years and it is always a huge hit. I serve with tomato slices and capers on mini bagels or toasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Salyards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I used this exact recipe, just used some smoked walleye. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made a double recipe the other day. I looked at the insane amount of pate in the dish and was expecting to throw at least 1/2 of it away since I expect our three kids (4, 7, 8) to turn their collective noses up. NOT SO. The kids devoured it! I made the recipe as shown but added 1 tsp of liquid smoke (remember, doubled the recipe). I'll add more next time. I also used a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I make this all the time and its always a hit! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Took this to a potluck with various crackers. It was gone almost immediately. Definitely add the liquid smoke mentioned by others!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
EXCELLENT recipe, very similar to Philadelphia's vesion of salmon cream cheese. I took the advice of others as well and used liquid smoke and crushed red pepper, parsley for garnish only. No nuts. Served it on a bed of fresh dill branches and lemon slices, and voila! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Quick Cured Salmon

See how to make a quick, simple brine for luxurious cured salmon.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States