Red Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Nice - like a fancy potato salad - goes well with burgers or chicken. I washed, peeled and chunked the pieces ahead of time lowering the cooking time a little bit (15 min for beets, add potatoes 10 min, add carrots 10 min). Made a nice salad plus I saved the broth for veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
In Peru, they usually don't put mustard. Usually it's either with just the mayonnaise, or with lime juice & salt. It's called "Ensalada Rusa" which translates to "russian salad". Usually the people there add other vegetables to this salad, such as cut-up string beans(boiled), and peas or corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was fantastic! I've made it a few times & love adding chopped hard boiled egg & celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELIRIOUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
A good combination, but a little bland for my taste. I added some chopped chives; also needed a bit of salt at the table. But otherwise, a nice dish. I peeled and chunked veggies before cooking and pressure cooked them to save time. I put them in a steamer basket with about a cup of water in my pressure cooker. Just 1-2 minutes at pressure, then release pressure immediately. The beets should be cut into the smallest chunks and the potatoes in the largest chunks for everything to finish cooking at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I, too, had only had the salad bar version of beets. This was great! I used a sweet potato instead of a regular potato, and cut the veggies in chunks to reduce the boiling time. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
As with other reviewers, I chopped up the veggies before cooking them. In order to "sell" my husband on a salad that contains beets I boiled the beets separately so the red color wouldn't bleed onto the rest of the vegetables in the cooking process. I cooked the beets for 30 mins and the carrots and potatoes for 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I definitely recommend cutting up the veggies before cooking, as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I was not a beet fun, now I use this recipie regularly and really enjoy this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Hi ladies! Thank you for the positive feedback and suggestions! The only reason why I don't chop or peel before hand is because I found the peels retain more of the vegetables flavor. I've done it both ways and just prefer doing it the longer way. I do add salt and a lil more mayo than posted on here. Also a lil salt goes a long way here!! Sorry for forgetting that one important ingredient!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eLi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urb. Ponce De Leon, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Did not add carrots. used dijon mustard, added eggs and wine vinegar. loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States