Red Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Great sidedish, simple and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
HORRIBLE!!! What a waste of perfectly good beets. We had to put real butter, salt & pepper on it so we could eat this. We'll just eat our beets as a regular vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
My Peruvian mother-in-law makes this quite often too and it's one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I, too, had only had the salad bar version of beets. This was great! I used a sweet potato instead of a regular potato, and cut the veggies in chunks to reduce the boiling time. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was fantastic! I've made it a few times & love adding chopped hard boiled egg & celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELIRIOUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I was not a beet fun, now I use this recipie regularly and really enjoy this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Nice - like a fancy potato salad - goes well with burgers or chicken. I washed, peeled and chunked the pieces ahead of time lowering the cooking time a little bit (15 min for beets, add potatoes 10 min, add carrots 10 min). Made a nice salad plus I saved the broth for veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
A good combination, but a little bland for my taste. I added some chopped chives; also needed a bit of salt at the table. But otherwise, a nice dish. I peeled and chunked veggies before cooking and pressure cooked them to save time. I put them in a steamer basket with about a cup of water in my pressure cooker. Just 1-2 minutes at pressure, then release pressure immediately. The beets should be cut into the smallest chunks and the potatoes in the largest chunks for everything to finish cooking at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Very tasty attractive salad. Good starch & vegetable combo. But cooking times do not match up to recommendations. Whole beets took about 1 3/4 hours to cook, while potatoes and carrots took about 20 min & 15 min, respectively
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I definitely recommend cutting up the veggies before cooking, as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States