Red Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
MMMM! Ensalada de Rus!!! My suegra taught me how to make this too! The mustard gives it a little zing and the beets are so sweet. It's like a jazzed up Potato Salad. My family likes it with eggs too and green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliecienta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
When I lived in the campo of Peru my host mom would make me huge bowls of this. We usually had it with lime juice and salt and pepper instead of mustard and mayonese. I didn't think I liked beets before I ate this salad, but they now have a special place in my heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This is oddly enough awesome! I cheated - used steamed baby beets and steamed carrots from Trader Joes (fridge section). Cooked purple pot. in microwave - thr. it in a bowl w/ mayo and mustard and had a meal in about 5 minutes! Did need some salt and as others said hard boiled eggs would be good to. Yipee for a bit of a healthier take on pot. salad! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
If you add some chopped pickles and canned peas, it will be Russian salad, known as Vinegret. It's amazing, that these two dishes from the opposite sides of the world are so similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Reminds me of Peru ... I found it was too much mustard so I'll use less than half next time, and I added salt, but otherwise was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
You'll never want another dish if you are in the mood for potato salad. I call it pink potatoe sald babd just use canned beets that I mix in with 2 hard boiled and diced eggs to the hot potatoes. Gosh I need to make this this weekend now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I definitely recommend cutting up the veggies before cooking, as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Very tasty attractive salad. Good starch & vegetable combo. But cooking times do not match up to recommendations. Whole beets took about 1 3/4 hours to cook, while potatoes and carrots took about 20 min & 15 min, respectively
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
A good combination, but a little bland for my taste. I added some chopped chives; also needed a bit of salt at the table. But otherwise, a nice dish. I peeled and chunked veggies before cooking and pressure cooked them to save time. I put them in a steamer basket with about a cup of water in my pressure cooker. Just 1-2 minutes at pressure, then release pressure immediately. The beets should be cut into the smallest chunks and the potatoes in the largest chunks for everything to finish cooking at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Nice - like a fancy potato salad - goes well with burgers or chicken. I washed, peeled and chunked the pieces ahead of time lowering the cooking time a little bit (15 min for beets, add potatoes 10 min, add carrots 10 min). Made a nice salad plus I saved the broth for veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States