Red Rice and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
It is good, but not great. I doubled the sausage, (actually 28 oz, since my store sells sausage in 14 oz, not 16 oz)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I agree with another reviewer that the recipe was not real clear on some points. I am pretty sure you are suppose to use precooked sausage because my uncooked sausage didnt fare so well on the cutting. It was good. I was looking for something with more of a tomato taste. My children liked it because they thought it tasted like pizza/lasagna. I definately suggest not cooking rice until well done. I will try it again but I will try a different sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Surprisingly great. After reading other reviews, I chose to put all ingredients in a 13x9 pan (after frying up the onions, garlic, sausage, etc) and bake at 375 for 1hr. The consistency of my rice was good, not mushy. I also added a can of white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Live there and I have so many and I have to say this one is not one I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I MADE THIS RICE FRIDAY NIGHT WITH HOPES THAT IT WOULD TASTE LIKE ME GRANDMAS RICE FROM SC. THE FLAVOR WAS AWSOME, BUT MY RICE CAME OUT MUSHY. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE TO A T. I KNOW MY GRANDMA USED PARBOILED RICE FOR HER RECIPE , AND USED A BROWN PAPER BAG TO DRAW OUT THE MIOSTURE. FLAVOR WAS GREAT, BUT ONCE AGAIN RICE WASH MUSH!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELOVEFOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Everytime we fix this dish it is perfect & it makes for great leftovers, as there are only 2 of us. Neither of us eat peppers or onions, so we fix ours without them. We tend to use spicy or mild Italian sausage in place of the smoked turkey sausage & bacon. Either way, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I don't know what Red Rice and Sausage is supposed to look/taste like, but this was pretty good. Some of the gang didn't care for it, but my son and I really liked it. Dashed a bit of hot sauce on it and it was even better. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Sorry to be to the contrary on this recipe..but I am a NATIVE Charlestonian..and my Grandmothers and Great Aunts handed down the recipe through our family (Gaillard)...the red rice "I" have grown to know, love and STILL make...starts with a tomato sauce or paste cooked to a soup and THEN rice is added and cooks and soaks up the liquid...giving a 'dry' rice dish...this was not AUTHENTIC !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Hmmm...I was wary of the spaghetti sauce...but the result was good. I think the outcome depends largely on the type of sausage used. And I did not blend the mixture and bake it for an hour. Seemed unnecessary. Instead, I simmered the mixture--without the rice--for a half hour, then I served it over the rice, like red beans and rice. It was yummy. Oh, and I added a nice dose of my favorite hot sauce--Ring 'O Fire! It really gave it a nice, flavorful Louisiana kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
So easy and delicious. I'd skip the bacon, but the turkey sausage was great. This is a perfect dish to deliver to a friend in need of a home made meal. I'm no cook, so this recipe must be idiot proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States