Red Quinoa and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Cooked my quinoa in chicken broth & we didn't have avocados but it was still a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I want to comment on the cook's notes that say red and white quinoa taste the same--I disagree. Red quinoa has a nuttier, deeper flavor which is absolutely delicious. It's also quite a bit more expensive. I do think this recipe would work with either, but if the cost is not prohibitive, use the red quinoa for the flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hardwick, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Fantastic! Made it as is, and it was very good - 4.5 stars as written. But I made a couple of slight tweaks to really add that little extra: - Extra 1T lime juice - Extra 1/8t of cumin - Add 1/8t garlic powder To me, that added the extra "dressing" and tiny extra punch that made this out of this world! On a side portion, I also mixed in a bit of oil/balsamic as other suggested, but I thought that confused the taste of the lime/cumin. It was still good, but a bit off. Will add this to my staples, SOOOO easy to make especially with cooked quinoa at the ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Eliminated the onion and spinach to make it more kid-friendly, and my daughter who swore she doesn't like quinoa actually licked her plate clean. I did think there was a bit too much lime juice in the dressing. I will add some olive oil next time to tone it down. A delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I couldn't find red quinoa but i found organic Andes quinoa and used that instead. We went to Peru a few years ago and that was the first time I was introduced to this ingredient. This recipe was very good and tasty, and it was even better the next day after it had chilled. Will be making this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ched Bread

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I don't know why, but I thought this was going to be a hot dish. Obviously I didn't read the instructions all the way through. I thought the flavor was very good - the lime and cumin. I didn't have red quinoa, so I used regular quinoa, and I could have used more of it. Also, the avocado I had wasn't quite ripe. All in all, I don't think there's anything wrong with the recipe, I think my dissatisfaction had to do with me wanting a hot dish and using an unripe avocado. I'll try it out again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coracoracora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Good idea for a fresh healthy recipe...but ditch the spinach and serve beside fish in place of couscous or in place of a pasta salad at a summer cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is a great salad but will make a couple changes next time: less red onion or use green onion (red onion was too strong), and more avocado as I love it in salad! Other than that, it was simple, easy, healthy and delicious! What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I didn't know what to expect because I have tried quinoa before and hated it. But thought I would tryy again and I am now a fan! So yummy I can't stop eating this. Easy and healthy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States