Red Quinoa and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Great starter recipe! Never cooked with quinoa before and now I am much more comfortable with the ingredient! Never would have thought to add cumin, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Double or triple recipe. This is perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It was good but a bit boring. It certainly could use a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Cooked my quinoa in chicken broth & we didn't have avocados but it was still a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I want to comment on the cook's notes that say red and white quinoa taste the same--I disagree. Red quinoa has a nuttier, deeper flavor which is absolutely delicious. It's also quite a bit more expensive. I do think this recipe would work with either, but if the cost is not prohibitive, use the red quinoa for the flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hardwick, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Fantastic! Made it as is, and it was very good - 4.5 stars as written. But I made a couple of slight tweaks to really add that little extra: - Extra 1T lime juice - Extra 1/8t of cumin - Add 1/8t garlic powder To me, that added the extra "dressing" and tiny extra punch that made this out of this world! On a side portion, I also mixed in a bit of oil/balsamic as other suggested, but I thought that confused the taste of the lime/cumin. It was still good, but a bit off. Will add this to my staples, SOOOO easy to make especially with cooked quinoa at the ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Eliminated the onion and spinach to make it more kid-friendly, and my daughter who swore she doesn't like quinoa actually licked her plate clean. I did think there was a bit too much lime juice in the dressing. I will add some olive oil next time to tone it down. A delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I couldn't find red quinoa but i found organic Andes quinoa and used that instead. We went to Peru a few years ago and that was the first time I was introduced to this ingredient. This recipe was very good and tasty, and it was even better the next day after it had chilled. Will be making this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ched Bread

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I don't know why, but I thought this was going to be a hot dish. Obviously I didn't read the instructions all the way through. I thought the flavor was very good - the lime and cumin. I didn't have red quinoa, so I used regular quinoa, and I could have used more of it. Also, the avocado I had wasn't quite ripe. All in all, I don't think there's anything wrong with the recipe, I think my dissatisfaction had to do with me wanting a hot dish and using an unripe avocado. I'll try it out again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coracoracora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States