Red Quinoa and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Made this as directed and it is delicious. The lime juice and cumin do not overpower the nutty taste of the quinoa plus the cool cucumber and tomatoes, crunchy red onion and creamy avocado all combine beautifully. Other recipes that I have made using quinoa have heavy dressings that make it soggy but that is not the case here. Quinoa stays light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Braton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is an easy, delicious, and very refreshing salad. I added half of a minced jalapeño to the dressing, which worked well. The recipe says it makes two servings, but it's more like one serving if you're eating it as an entree. You can probably reduce the amount of avocado, too. This would be a spectacular lunch or dinner for those summer days when it's too hot to think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Love this salad. It's quick and easy to make. I also like to add feta cheese and crushed walnuts for a crunch. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Like some of the other posters, I added a few things, but only because I had them. I thought the salad was exceptionally good. I added carrots, radishes and when I served it, I crumbled a little bacon on top, which I had on hand. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsDeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Delicious, delicious, annnd delicious. First time making it. Easy to make. The avocado is definitely a nice touch. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Delicious add a little ground beef or turkey lean and dinner is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Unique flavor (must be the cumin) in a healthy summer salad. Just came back from Peru with some red quinoa - first time I tried it. Wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing except to add some browned chicken strips (coated in cumin, red pepper and salt) for protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Yum - loved this recipe! My husband and boys (5 and 2) had never had quinoa before, and it was met with mixed reactions. My husband and I love it, my oldest thought it was okay, and my two year old barely touched it. I doubled the recipe so I would have extra to take to work this week for lunches, which I am really looking forward to. I really like the nuttier flavor of the red quinoa, and thought all of the veggies were a good combination for the dish. Some people said the lime juice and cumin didn't make enough of a dressing, but I thought it was perfect. This definitely isn't a recipe that you would want drenched in a dressing because it would cover up all the wonderfulness that these ingredients have on their own. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Gitano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
The recipe intrigued me since I love all of the ingredients. Together it was still missing something - my husband poured dressing on it to liven it up. The dish was blah - I could have easily skipped the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Great starter recipe! Never cooked with quinoa before and now I am much more comfortable with the ingredient! Never would have thought to add cumin, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States