Red Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I used extra chicken broth and only 2 cups milk 1/4 cup butter and I added lots of spices, dash hot sauce, sausage, celery, corn and carrots... A non soup lover said it was his fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My husband and I LOVE this potato soup. I make a smaller portion using about 6 red potatoes and half of the other ingredients. I also use green onion instead of regular onion. If anyone wants their soup thicker, just add about 1 cup of instant potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Made tonight added my own twist. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
As with all soup recipes I use them as a starting point and add or subtract whatever I happen to have on hand. I added celery, frozen corn, frozen peas. Cooked the potatoes in the chicken broth that was left over from my roommate cooking chicken legs. added chopped green pepper and thickened it with a little flour mixed with some cold milk. I didn't add all that milk, either. I used about 1 cup with the thickening process but had about 1 1/2 quarts of broth from cooking the chicken legs. It's a great start ~ then make it your own! Oh - I added crushed red pepper because I like soup with a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was a very tasty soup. Of course using the red potatoes, the soup stayed chunky. I like my soup a bit thicker, so I would have mashed up some of the potaoes to my liking. Great flavor though. I didn't have an onion so I used onion flakes, didn't have celery seeds, but we used celery salt to our liking, and was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This soup smells amazing and is great! We added less celery seed, and less milk than suggested--good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Thanks a LOT for the suggestions in the reviews, everyone! First off, I used a light roux like one reviewer suggested (which completely eliminated the separation problems), used about half of the called-for celery seed and added celery of my own, and added some fresh spinach when I added the milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Buchholz
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
WAY TO MILKY!!!! But It Had Good Flavor, So I'm Gonna Work With the Recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I'm giving it 4 stars not because I liked my version of this recipe so much as I like the base of this recipe and think others would find it tasty. To start I made HALF of the batch in this recipe. 4 red potatoes, chopped celery, chopped onion, 1/4 butter, garlic powder to taste, seasoning salt, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Once you add everything and get the potatoes soft I added only two cups of milk. In addition, TO KEEP THE BUTTER FROM SEPARATING, and to help thicken the soup from being so 'juicy/runny' I added about a half cup of flour. It turned out perfect with some shredded mild cheddar cheese on top. Both of my kids (3 and 5 y/o) loved it. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was great! We found that the second day that there seemed to be too much milk - I suggest using about 2/3 what it calls for, otherwise it tastes simply like milk with a touch of potatos. Also, we tried it again (with less milk and added spinach and browned ground beef - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States