Red Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was great! We found that the second day that there seemed to be too much milk - I suggest using about 2/3 what it calls for, otherwise it tastes simply like milk with a touch of potatos. Also, we tried it again (with less milk and added spinach and browned ground beef - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I liked the idea of a chicken broth base, which I used after I boiled the potatos in regular water and drained. A combination of milk and half & half was used, and also bit of bacon grease. I used a potato masher and broke up the potatos somewhat in the soup mix. I also used fresh garlic instead of powder; about 2 cloves, added one celery stalk (diced) and 4 green onions (minus the green tops, my family doesn't like onions). I served this with bacon bits and grated cheese on top. This soup was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was a very tasty soup. Of course using the red potatoes, the soup stayed chunky. I like my soup a bit thicker, so I would have mashed up some of the potaoes to my liking. Great flavor though. I didn't have an onion so I used onion flakes, didn't have celery seeds, but we used celery salt to our liking, and was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Thanks a LOT for the suggestions in the reviews, everyone! First off, I used a light roux like one reviewer suggested (which completely eliminated the separation problems), used about half of the called-for celery seed and added celery of my own, and added some fresh spinach when I added the milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
It was watery and did not taste good to me. Doubt I will try this again. Perhaps less celery seed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Unfortunately not as great as it looks in the photo, it's very milky and the reviews were right, the butter just floats on top. I'm sure with the added suggestions below it would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Added mashed red potato to the soup to make it creamy, added cubed chicken and only half the milk. Good recipe, but butter definitely separates from the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This soup was all right. I was a little disappointed in it, actually, but the basic idea is a solid one that I will build upon in the future and try again. The kids liked it and my husbnad liked it well enough but had a lot of suggestions on how it could be improved. We'll have itagain, I'm sure, but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This soup smells amazing and is great! We added less celery seed, and less milk than suggested--good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I used extra chicken broth and only 2 cups milk 1/4 cup butter and I added lots of spices, dash hot sauce, sausage, celery, corn and carrots... A non soup lover said it was his fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States