Red Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was great! We found that the second day that there seemed to be too much milk - I suggest using about 2/3 what it calls for, otherwise it tastes simply like milk with a touch of potatos. Also, we tried it again (with less milk and added spinach and browned ground beef - very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was a very tasty soup. Of course using the red potatoes, the soup stayed chunky. I like my soup a bit thicker, so I would have mashed up some of the potaoes to my liking. Great flavor though. I didn't have an onion so I used onion flakes, didn't have celery seeds, but we used celery salt to our liking, and was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I liked the idea of a chicken broth base, which I used after I boiled the potatos in regular water and drained. A combination of milk and half & half was used, and also bit of bacon grease. I used a potato masher and broke up the potatos somewhat in the soup mix. I also used fresh garlic instead of powder; about 2 cloves, added one celery stalk (diced) and 4 green onions (minus the green tops, my family doesn't like onions). I served this with bacon bits and grated cheese on top. This soup was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This soup was all right. I was a little disappointed in it, actually, but the basic idea is a solid one that I will build upon in the future and try again. The kids liked it and my husbnad liked it well enough but had a lot of suggestions on how it could be improved. We'll have itagain, I'm sure, but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I thought this was nice and creamy. Just one complaint the butter congealed at the top of each bowl and in the pot. I tried it with the butter and it was like I was eating butter soup. I ended up painstakingly scooping the butter out and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This soup was good, but the liquid was too runny,and as someone else stated, the butter kept forming at the top. Next time I will try to make a roux and see if it does better! I also Sauted onion, garlic, and celery in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delphos, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We did not care for this recipe. It was so loaed with celery seed! I do not reccommend anyone making this........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This soup smells amazing and is great! We added less celery seed, and less milk than suggested--good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Thanks a LOT for the suggestions in the reviews, everyone! First off, I used a light roux like one reviewer suggested (which completely eliminated the separation problems), used about half of the called-for celery seed and added celery of my own, and added some fresh spinach when I added the milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I used yellow potatoes instead of red, no celery seed so I used celery salt and added in one chopped stalk of celery. Simple, easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States