Red Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
It was watery and did not taste good to me. Doubt I will try this again. Perhaps less celery seed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I used extra chicken broth and only 2 cups milk 1/4 cup butter and I added lots of spices, dash hot sauce, sausage, celery, corn and carrots... A non soup lover said it was his fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I think there are some typos on this recipe. It says 1 (49.5 fluid ounce) can of broth - I think that was supposed to be 1 (14.9oz) can. Also, 2 tablespoons of celery seed was a bit too much for my family's liking so I think that should have been 2 teaspoons. It was too runny so I would make again but modify the amounts of liquids and probably make the roux first. I added bacon bits to mine and served with shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Definately do not use as much milk as the recipe calls for, it turns out less like soup and more like a broth. I added some frozen sweet corn also, good flavor just not very substantial with all that liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Unfortunately not as great as it looks in the photo, it's very milky and the reviews were right, the butter just floats on top. I'm sure with the added suggestions below it would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Added mashed red potato to the soup to make it creamy, added cubed chicken and only half the milk. Good recipe, but butter definitely separates from the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I used yellow potatoes instead of red, no celery seed so I used celery salt and added in one chopped stalk of celery. Simple, easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Thanks a LOT for the suggestions in the reviews, everyone! First off, I used a light roux like one reviewer suggested (which completely eliminated the separation problems), used about half of the called-for celery seed and added celery of my own, and added some fresh spinach when I added the milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This soup smells amazing and is great! We added less celery seed, and less milk than suggested--good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We did not care for this recipe. It was so loaed with celery seed! I do not reccommend anyone making this........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States