Red Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I think there are some typos on this recipe. It says 1 (49.5 fluid ounce) can of broth - I think that was supposed to be 1 (14.9oz) can. Also, 2 tablespoons of celery seed was a bit too much for my family's liking so I think that should have been 2 teaspoons. It was too runny so I would make again but modify the amounts of liquids and probably make the roux first. I added bacon bits to mine and served with shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Definately do not use as much milk as the recipe calls for, it turns out less like soup and more like a broth. I added some frozen sweet corn also, good flavor just not very substantial with all that liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Unfortunately not as great as it looks in the photo, it's very milky and the reviews were right, the butter just floats on top. I'm sure with the added suggestions below it would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Added mashed red potato to the soup to make it creamy, added cubed chicken and only half the milk. Good recipe, but butter definitely separates from the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I used yellow potatoes instead of red, no celery seed so I used celery salt and added in one chopped stalk of celery. Simple, easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Thanks a LOT for the suggestions in the reviews, everyone! First off, I used a light roux like one reviewer suggested (which completely eliminated the separation problems), used about half of the called-for celery seed and added celery of my own, and added some fresh spinach when I added the milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This soup smells amazing and is great! We added less celery seed, and less milk than suggested--good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
We did not care for this recipe. It was so loaed with celery seed! I do not reccommend anyone making this........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This soup was good, but the liquid was too runny,and as someone else stated, the butter kept forming at the top. Next time I will try to make a roux and see if it does better! I also Sauted onion, garlic, and celery in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delphos, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I thought this was nice and creamy. Just one complaint the butter congealed at the top of each bowl and in the pot. I tried it with the butter and it was like I was eating butter soup. I ended up painstakingly scooping the butter out and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States