Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
One of the things that appealed to me about this recipe was the higher ratio of sour cream to mayonnaise. Some mayonnaise based salads are so heavy on the mayo that it tends to dominate other flavors. As a matter of personal preference I used full fat sour cream, Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt, and considerably more celery, dill pickles and dill weed. Creamy, delicious, and very pretty potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Very good. Added 1 more tsp regular mustard, used only 1 tsp dry dill and used the dill brine for the vinegar. Excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I've been making traditional potato salad forever so this sounded like a refreshing and healthy variation. We loved it! I used fresh garlic, dill & parsley and added more mustard, salt, pepper than called for (some said it was bland). We love it crunchy so I tripled celery and pickles. This will be my potato salad this summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is seriously a great recipe... my fam is such a fan of this salad.. it has a great taste which is semi different from the typical potato salad... we dig it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This the best potato sald i have ever had.I made some minor changes used 1/2 red onion insted of green, 3 celery stalks, 1/2 cup sour cream insted of 1 cup and seasoned salt.I also cooked potatos nite before so they were cold and didn't mush up when stiring in other ingredients. I am going to made this again but i will substitue mostaccoli shells in place of potatos.Thanks soooo much for fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
WOW.........Super Good & Super Easy. Your guests will love this one. I used freash dill and a pepper medley to zip things up a tiny bit. Lots of smiles and the kids like this recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Wonderful salad. The flavor was great and i love the coler of red potatos. A deffinite keeper! I didn't change one thing in this recipe. Perfect as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Great recipe! Took some to work & all the girls in the office raved over it. We all especially liked the sour cream in the dressing. I used both fat free sour cream & mayo to reduce calories. Have also made it with small brown new potatoes with good success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Great! I had half a bag of red potatoes that needed to be used so made this. It was much better the second day but was good even the first day. Husband said it was much better than "store bought"! That's good enough for me! Followed the recipe except that I added a little more celery and dill pickles and doubled the vinegar for tang. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was really delicious. I used a combo of Greek yogurt & sour cream. I had new red & Russett potatoes freshly dug from the garden, so I used a combo of those. DH likes sweet gherkins, so I used that instead of a dill pickle, and red onion because that is what I had on hand. Cut the recipe in half. It turned out great. Thanks, Dishy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States