Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Great! I had half a bag of red potatoes that needed to be used so made this. It was much better the second day but was good even the first day. Husband said it was much better than "store bought"! That's good enough for me! Followed the recipe except that I added a little more celery and dill pickles and doubled the vinegar for tang. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was really delicious. I used a combo of Greek yogurt & sour cream. I had new red & Russett potatoes freshly dug from the garden, so I used a combo of those. DH likes sweet gherkins, so I used that instead of a dill pickle, and red onion because that is what I had on hand. Cut the recipe in half. It turned out great. Thanks, Dishy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Horton
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I have never been a potato salad eater because of all the mayo used. I really liked this recipe because of the sour cream. My fiance loved it. Next time I will add more pickles. I will definitely make this one again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This is a great alternative to the traditional potato salad. I switched it up a little bit by throwing in a few shredded carrots. I also used a healthy amount of fresh chopped dill in place of the dried dill. I love the smell & taste of this salad with the fresh dill, and it was a hit with everyone! Even my 5 year old daughters had a bit, and it's rare for them to try anything with the word "salad" in the title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was only my 2nd attempt at potatoe salad. I like this recipe and so did my husband. I did add more mustard, mayo, extra pickle, and vinegar to suit my taste. I did not use black pepper or hot pepper, as I do not care for the spice. We like this one and will use it again. I love dill, so I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I got rave reviews at a party this weekend. It's got a much lighter taste than other potato salads. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe is Wonderful!!! I have made a lot of variations to potato salads and this one is by far my favorite. I changed things up a bit by adding 3 stalks of celery and omitting the green onion. I also used garlic salt instead of the powder and added 1/3 cup of crumbled bacon. The dill and dill pickle add so much flavor but I did cut down the dill to 1 tsp...it's amazing. I will be keeping this recipe and using it for many occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I replaced the sour cream with lowfat yogurt and it was still plenty creamy. Also used fresh dill and left out the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Don't tell, but this is better than my mom's. I really loved the tanginess the sour cream gave. I did have to make a couple of changes because of a lack of ingredients such as some fresh chopped garlic instead of onion and no celery or dill so I used some Spike Veg. I used a bit more than a dash of hot sauce, subbed a generous amount of spicy grainy mustard for the dijon, and used brine from homemade pickles in place of vinegar. I also used Tofutti Sour Supreme and Vegannaise instead of the dairy counterparts. I look forward to making it again when I have all the ingredients to follow the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was outstanding for a potato salad. It was so tasty and creamy. I practically ate the whole bowl myself and I do not like potato salad. I used fat free sour cream and light mayo. The only changes I made was that I added 1/4 cup of finely sliced red onion because I didn't have onion salt. This now replaces my mom's...Sorry ma!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States