Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
What a great find this recipe is! I'm not sure how or why, but it does not taste at all like a low fat version of potato salad; the dressing is creamy and delicious. I used fresh dill because I had some in the fridge, used a few more green onions because I love the onion flavor in potato salad, and liberally salt and peppered. Fabulous recipe, What A Dish, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Good basic recipe you can alter a bit if necessary. Once the red potatoes were close to fork tender, I drained in colander & placed in a large bowl (hot potatoes continue to cook a bit). I'm going try roasting potatoes like other submitter suggested next time. To warm potatoes I added a Tsp dehydrated minced onions, 1/2 tsp of celery seed, 1 Tblsp of white balsamic vinegar and S&P. Tossed all together, covered & set aside for potatoes to absorb. Used 1/4 cup of mayo, 1/2 C s.crm & 2 eggs as I only had 5 red potatoes. Didn't reduce other ingredients. I mixed all the "wet" ingredients together separately (added a tsp of dill weed & used sweet pickle relish) then folded into the room temp potatoes. Added a tsp of Splenda for a tiny bit of sweet. Immediately store in fridge for at least a couple hours although I make day b4. How AWESOME! Mixed in cooked bacon crumbles right before serving. For anybody who may not realize - don't double dip utensil when tasting for adjustments...saliva will make the potato salad turn runny (I know, gross) but true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
It was a good potato salad although not quite as flavorful as I had thought it would be. I didn't have too much left over after serving it at a party so that is good. I would probably increase some of the seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was GREAT. I did roast my potatoes with a little EVOO/salt/pepper in a 400* oven for about a half hour (and if you haven't done this before and then use in a potato salad, you're missing out!!!!), then made the salad as directed. I did increase the dill pickle just a bit and I used onion powder instead of onion salt as it was salty enough with just the pickles. I did add a little shredded cheddar as my boys are adamant on adding cheddar to all potato salads. My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
For me, the light flavor is what's so appealing about this salad. It doesn't have the overpowering flavor of mayonnaise. When finished, I did need to add more salt (cold dishes tend to need more) but the recipe does say salt "to taste". The whole fam loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
One of the things that appealed to me about this recipe was the higher ratio of sour cream to mayonnaise. Some mayonnaise based salads are so heavy on the mayo that it tends to dominate other flavors. As a matter of personal preference I used full fat sour cream, Jane's Crazy Mixed Up Salt, and considerably more celery, dill pickles and dill weed. Creamy, delicious, and very pretty potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
The best PS we have had and we are a Miracle Whip family. For the potatoes: Selected red skins, all about 2 in. in diameter for uniform cooking. Leaving the skin on, cut in quarters, gently boiled, covered, in salted water for 10 min., let sit in hot water for 5 min. Perfect, fork tender. Drained, rinsed in cold water, spread out on paper towels skin side down and seasoned with salt and pepper. Left to cool. For the "sauce": mixed all ingredients, except the potatoes and eggs, a day ahead to let flavors come together. Added some MW for the extra spices. The recipe called for 1/2 c mayo so added an extra 1/4 c MW. The sauce may seem to contain too much dill at this point but it will be fine. Mixed "sauce", bite size potatoes and eggs together about 9 hrs. before serving and that seemed to be enough time for the flavors to come together. Only need about 3/4 of the "sauce". One caution - make more than you you think you will need, people really load up on this. For 8 servings I would suggesting adjusting the recipe up to 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I enjoyed this potato salad alot, minor changes I made were that I upped all the spices about 3-4 times and used regular sour cream, never have liked the flavor of the no fat, came out quite zesty and full flavored and still contained compared to the amount of ingredients a fairly low amount of salt. Very nice combination of spices, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Kliebor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Loved this recipe! The only thing I changed was I added some crumbled bacon. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rogersville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This was SO good & I never would have tried this if it weren't for the reviews. It's practically taboo in my family to make a potato salad other than my grandmother's recipe but I was so tired of it and was trying a lot of different recipes. This was the best by far. The only changes I made: I changed the servings from 12 to 8 but still used 4 eggs, used regular sour cream & fresh dill. I also didn't need all of the sour cream/mayo mixture and ended up using about 2/3 of what the recipe called for. Thanks Mitch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States