Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a really good potato salad. I went through the reviews and so many people added a bunch of stuff to this like bacon, eggs, cheese. It's a totally different salad at that point. This is meant to be light! I added a little more chives and let it sit overnight. The flavor of the chives really came through. I added a little Miracle Whip for some added zip - not much, just a couple of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Really good. The fresh chives really add to the dish. Added more than called for though. I don't like mayonaisse based potato salad and this was perfect. I liked the creamy taste and the sour cream and yogurt match well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I added bacon bits and shredded cheddar cheese. My kids won't touch most potato salads, but LOVED this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
I used mayo in place of yogurt and added dill pickles and celery...and a generous helping of mustard cause I like it....very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Added dill, a tbsp or so of red wine vinegar and substituted garlic salt for regular. A great healthier recipe for potato salad! Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
My family loves this when I make it. I also add a little dill weed and some cracked black pepper. This is so good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2000
I was very tired when I made this salad and accidentally used mayonnaise instead of sour cream and it was still very good. I'm going to try it next time using the sour cream as stated in the recipe. I also threw in some celery to add some extra veggies. I think I'll also add some hard boiled eggs next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Very good salad! Easy and quick. I added a little dill pickle juice to or you could use fresh dill or dill seed. It gave it just a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Hill, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
I loved this recipe. Lighter than your standard potato salad with loads of mayonnaise or miracle whip. I used a little more dill (didn't really measure it) and freeze dried chives, which I thought worked well. I think garlic salt in place of regular salt would add even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This was a very bland salad. I added a generous amount of dill weed and some bacon and it just didn't help. Sorry, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States