Red Potato Salad with Sour Cream and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Quite tasty on its own, but I found that it needed just a little something, so I added ~2T dijon mustard and ~1/4C finely chopped onions after the fact. I also used lowfat sour cream and lowfat greek yogurt. I was really shocked at how good it was given how much healthier it is than your standard potato salad. I think some hard cooked egg whites would also be a welcome addition--and maybe some celery, too--if you're looking to make it more "traditional" in texture and content. I'm going to try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My mom made a version of this and I loooooved it! Thanks for posting this recipe, now I know how to make it. We add crumbled bacon...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marynlc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I thought this recipe was extremely bland. I liked it as a base recipe and then I added my own pizzazz. I added whole grain mustard, celery, garlic salt, & bacon. The mustard gave it a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
It was a little bland, so I added a pound of crumbled bacon and a few shakes of red pepper flakes. It added some kick without being too hot. I would prefer it a little creamier next time. It tasted like a loaded baked potato. It was good. Had lots of compliments with my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a really good potato salad. I went through the reviews and so many people added a bunch of stuff to this like bacon, eggs, cheese. It's a totally different salad at that point. This is meant to be light! I added a little more chives and let it sit overnight. The flavor of the chives really came through. I added a little Miracle Whip for some added zip - not much, just a couple of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I like the yogurt and sour cream mixture, but it was a little bland even after I added some dried dill. Next time I will increase the amount of salt and pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
not enough flavor and texture for potatoe salad. was missing celery, eggs, onions etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrbobajango

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is a simple and plain potato salad but I really liked it.I do think the chives give it flavor, and I like its creaminess. I'm not a big mayo fan, so I liked this better than potato salads made with mayonnaise. It's easy to make and doesn't take much time, either. I do think it would be good with some things added to it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
My husband brought this to a potluck. It went so fast! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Very good, although I have to admit I did change the recipe a bit. The recipe itself was a great start, and by implementing suggestions from other reviewers, it was outstanding! I realized (after cooking the potatoes) that I didn't have any sour cream, so I softened about 1/3 block of cream cheese and added a few tablespoons of ranch dressing to it. I didn't use the yogurt, either, but I added a tablespoon or so of light mayo, in addition to chives, sea salt, shredded cheese and bacon bits. I served it at room temperature, and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States